Revit Architecture

Reply
Active Member
migdalia_banda
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎04-12-2012
Message 1 of 5 (1,777 Views)

Changing the wall thickness

1777 Views, 4 Replies
04-12-2012 04:27 PM

I have a finished floor plan with 5.5" thick walls, but now i want to make all my walls thicker without changing the size of my rooms. Does anyone know what i can do to achieve this. I tried locking the wall dimensions before changing their thickness but it still shrunk my room sizes. Maybe i did it wrong, idk, can someone help?

 

 

 

Valued Mentor
vector2
Posts: 2,058
Registered: ‎03-28-2009
Message 2 of 5 (1,774 Views)

Re: Changing the wall thickness

04-12-2012 04:36 PM in reply to: migdalia_banda

Set the wall's location line to Finish 

Face Interior.

Active Member
migdalia_banda
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎04-12-2012
Message 3 of 5 (1,771 Views)

Re: Changing the wall thickness

04-12-2012 04:39 PM in reply to: vector2

OMG thank you very much!!! :smileyhappy: You don't know how long I've been struggling with that!

Distinguished Contributor
cvandevere
Posts: 119
Registered: ‎09-02-2006
Message 4 of 5 (1,769 Views)

Re: Changing the wall thickness

04-12-2012 04:42 PM in reply to: migdalia_banda

Yes it is fairly simple to do what you want. Before you change the wall type/thickness Click on the wall to highlight it, first notice which side of the wall the up and down arrows are that indicates the exterior  side of the wall, then in the properties panel, click on the location line and highlight, Finish Face : Interior this locks the interior side of the wall so when it moves it will move out from that point. try it out on a few walls to see the results. exterior walls the wall will move out outside of the exterior. Pay close attention when working with interior walls again the double arrow will indicate what is considered the exterior side of the wall so you will need to highlight the location line for the side that you do not want to move. Hope this helps!

CDV
Mentor
parveen.revit
Posts: 232
Registered: ‎09-29-2010
Message 5 of 5 (1,745 Views)

Re: Changing the wall thickness

04-12-2012 10:49 PM in reply to: migdalia_banda

Dear Migdalia,

 

its good to know that you have got answer to your query and i hope you'd completed your floorplan with changes wall thickness.

 

Just to add my opinion on this issue, You have to take take care of location line for each individual wall.

Drawing a wall from left to right and right to left have different meanings in Revit (clockwise/anti-clockwise).

 

Please make sure you did it right way as suggested by experts in previous answers.

Parveen_Intec_Infocom (BIM, CAD, GIS, QS Services' Provider)
Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.