Revit Architecture Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Revit Architecture Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Revit Architecture topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Change Family Host Type

17 REPLIES 17
SOLVED
Message 1 of 18
mhlipp
102260 Views, 17 Replies

Change Family Host Type

I'm a newbie to Revit (I'm using Revit 2014). I have a Wall hosted glass shower curtain I downloaded. The Family Category is Generic Model. I need to be able to place the curtain on another family, a shower stall with tile walls, instead of the wall. Is there a way I can do this? Please give me step-by-step instrucitons (since I'm new to Revit). Thanks!

17 REPLIES 17
Message 2 of 18
LisaDrago
in reply to: mhlipp

Hello and Welcome to the Discussion and Revit!

As for changing a wall hosted component to host in something else - It can not be done. You would need to recreate the family. It is pretty strict on those things.

With that said... you can create a shower stall wall that has tile and what ever else it needs.

When you start the wall command - go to the Edit Type button in the Properties dialog box.

in the Type Properties dialog box select duplicate and rename the wall to something logical.

Select the Edit button on the Structure parameter.

This is the Edit Assembly dialog box where you can build the layers of your wall.

LD

If this helped solve your issue - remember to 'accept as solution' to help other find answers!
You can't think AutoCAD and run Revit.
Email: LisaDragoEE@gmail.com
Message 3 of 18
pullinsm
in reply to: LisaDrago

Hi Lisa, I read your comment.

So, I downloaded an Air Terminal from a manufacturer website, it only allows me to host to a wall? Why on earth did they want to host a Air Terminal to the face of a wall?

So to get this to work properly I need to recreate the family and make sure it hosts to the ceiling?

Message 4 of 18
CoreyDaun
in reply to: pullinsm