Revit Architecture

Revit Architecture

Reply
New Member
sarahshahin
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎01-25-2013
Message 1 of 4 (2,692 Views)

cant install revit 2012 on windows 8..

2692 Views, 3 Replies
01-25-2013 04:35 AM

I have tried installing Revit 2012 and 2011 several times on my new device which is a windows 8 but the installation fails everytime. Are there problems with Autodesk products and windows 8? most of my work is on Revit so I need to figure out a solution,

 

Thanks

 

 

 

 

 

*Expert Elite*
ccollins
Posts: 866
Registered: ‎09-28-2009
Message 2 of 4 (2,679 Views)

Re: cant install revit 2012 on windows 8..

01-25-2013 06:00 AM in reply to: sarahshahin

I'm not sure that Revit 2011 or 2012 will install on Windows 8, as they were developed several years ago --well before Windows 8, which uses .NET 4.5.

 

Window 7 uses .NET 4.0. If a computer gets upgraded to .NET 4.5, Revit's ribbon experiences alot of problems.

 

Could you install Revit 2013 on Win 8 and upgrade you older projects?

Cliff B. Collins
Registered Architect/BIM Manager
Thalden Boyd Emery Architects
St. Louis, MO
*Expert Elite*
DarrenP
Posts: 7,671
Registered: ‎09-13-2007
Message 3 of 4 (2,678 Views)

Re: cant install revit 2012 on windows 8..

01-25-2013 06:00 AM in reply to: sarahshahin

Windows 8 is not a supported OS for Revit which means autodesk did not test it on windows 8 so what ever problems you run into my or may not get fixed in 2013

you can look through here for issues and workarounds other people have posted: http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/forums/searchpage/tab/message/?page=2&q=windows+8&search_type=thread

 

 

New Member
mustafakemalturkeri
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎11-04-2014
Message 4 of 4 (99 Views)

Re: cant install revit 2012 on windows 8..

11-04-2014 02:04 PM in reply to: sarahshahin
Just delete Microsoft Visual C++ 2010 Redistributable (x86) and (x64) from Control Panel - Programs and Features and try it again. I tried to find a solution for the same problem for approximately a week and then I came up with this solution in the end. This method solved the issue for me.
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.