Revit Architecture

Reply
Valued Contributor
RJK42
Posts: 87
Registered: ‎04-04-2012
Message 1 of 7 (778 Views)
Accepted Solution

cannot see toilet

778 Views, 6 Replies
10-31-2012 09:00 AM

Not sure what I did different when going through the tutorials but I drew up a bathroom and I cannot see the toilet.  I only see a pink rectangle to where the tiolet is placed.  I also try to put the views in the sheet but the view does not see correct when set to scale.

 

 

I attached some pics

The toilet family is the suspect. Open the family and check its visibility settings in plan view, etc..

*Expert Elite*
Alfredo_Medina
Posts: 2,821
Registered: ‎06-11-2009
Message 2 of 7 (765 Views)

Re: cannot see toilet

10-31-2012 09:17 AM in reply to: RJK42

The toilet family is the suspect. Open the family and check its visibility settings in plan view, etc..

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Planta1 Revit Online Consulting | info@planta1.com | my Twitter | The Planta1 Blog
Valued Contributor
RJK42
Posts: 87
Registered: ‎04-04-2012
Message 3 of 7 (760 Views)

Re: cannot see toilet

10-31-2012 09:30 AM in reply to: Alfredo_Medina

I downloaded the family from Kohler.  When I click on it the Constraints are grayed out in the propeties, but when I select a toilet from a family that was included in the software I can make adjustments to the constraints.  As for the views, I'm not sure where I can adjust the range.  I do not see an option for it.  

*Expert Elite*
Alfredo_Medina
Posts: 2,821
Registered: ‎06-11-2009
Message 4 of 7 (752 Views)

Re: cannot see toilet

10-31-2012 09:53 AM in reply to: RJK42

If I remember correctly, and please someone correct me if I'm wrong, the first group of Revit families from Kohler were just a migration of their previous AutoCAD blocks, inserted into the family editor of Revit. Then, they realized that this was not the best approach, and they worked on a new set of families, made with native Revit solids. Perhaps this family that you donwload is from the old set, which had some issues with colors and visibility that do not happen with the new set of families.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Planta1 Revit Online Consulting | info@planta1.com | my Twitter | The Planta1 Blog
Valued Contributor
RJK42
Posts: 87
Registered: ‎04-04-2012
Message 5 of 7 (749 Views)

Re: cannot see toilet

10-31-2012 09:58 AM in reply to: Alfredo_Medina

I think you are right.  I double clicked the family to edit it. From your previous post, I select the family and click "Edit" in the "Visibility/Graphics Overrides" property.  But as I'm doing so, it seem as this family is made up in parts and not joined.  So I have to click each part and select how I want it displayed.  Is this the correct way?? Also, is there a better way to do this other than click on each and every component?

 

I attaced a picture.

 

Thanks again!!

*Expert Elite*
Alfredo_Medina
Posts: 2,821
Registered: ‎06-11-2009
Message 6 of 7 (729 Views)

Re: cannot see toilet

10-31-2012 10:40 AM in reply to: RJK42

You know, when you download a family, is like when you buy a used car. It is "as is". If it has issues, you need to fix them. This toilet family has the model objects, the seat, the tank, and the cap of the tank, not visible in plan view, but instead, it has a pink rectangle visible. Why? Good question for the content creator who made it. You could work with the built-in plumbing fixture families, instead, which display the fixture correctly.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Planta1 Revit Online Consulting | info@planta1.com | my Twitter | The Planta1 Blog
Valued Contributor
RJK42
Posts: 87
Registered: ‎04-04-2012
Message 7 of 7 (720 Views)

Re: cannot see toilet

10-31-2012 11:09 AM in reply to: Alfredo_Medina

Not only did I have to go in to edit the family, I had to make all the components of the toilet visible in all views plus delete the masking region that was in there for what ever reason.  The result - you can see it now!! 

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.