Revit Architecture

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
kwg06516
Posts: 193
Registered: ‎09-26-2008
Message 1 of 13 (587 Views)
Accepted Solution

cannot close opening for gambrel shed dormer

587 Views, 12 Replies
12-06-2012 08:24 PM

I'm new to Revit and watched every tutorial on roofs and dormers I could find and I can't find a solution.  I have a shed dormer coplanar with the top chord of a gambrel roof.  When I try to use the dormer tool it will not let me select the shed dormer roof to close the loop.  There are no tools beyond picking appropriate edges/planes so I can't close it any other way than picking appropriate planes.  Why doesn't it see this roof plane as appropriate?  

 

Both the gambrel roof and the shed roof were created from extrusion since I couldn't figure out how to create a sloped roof from the dormer walls that was coplanar with the top chord of the gambrel without tedious manual calculations of wall heights or levels.

 

I've tried hiding/isolating uninvolved elements for easy picking and attaching/unattaching walls to roofs.

 

I also tried joining the shed to the gambrel which while successful in and of itself did nothing to help the dormer tool cut the lower chord for the dormer walls.

 

I am aware there are manual methods to cut the roof and modify the wall profiles but I'm afraid that these methods will not join the elements in way that will produce a correct section or framing detail.

 


AutoCAD 2010


AutoCAD 2015


Revit 2015

One possible solution is: 3 roof elements, by footprint, like this:

 

12-8-2012 4-19-36 PM.jpg

*Expert Elite*
Alfredo_Medina
Posts: 2,834
Registered: ‎06-11-2009
Message 2 of 13 (555 Views)

Re: cannot close opening for gambrel shed dormer

12-08-2012 01:23 PM in reply to: kwg06516

One possible solution is: 3 roof elements, by footprint, like this:

 

12-8-2012 4-19-36 PM.jpg

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Planta1 Revit Online Consulting | info@planta1.com | my Twitter | The Planta1 Blog
Distinguished Contributor
kwg06516
Posts: 193
Registered: ‎09-26-2008
Message 3 of 13 (508 Views)

Re: cannot close opening for gambrel shed dormer

12-10-2012 08:16 AM in reply to: kwg06516

I suppose I can give that a try.  It probably makes more sense from a construction standpoint since the rafters of the dormer are continuous to the top ridge.  I'm looking forward to how revit will generate the detail for where the main roof changes pitch, these being done as two roofs now.

 

Any suggestions on how I unite them?

 

 


AutoCAD 2010


AutoCAD 2015


Revit 2015

Distinguished Contributor
kwg06516
Posts: 193
Registered: ‎09-26-2008
Message 4 of 13 (498 Views)

Re: cannot close opening for gambrel shed dormer

12-10-2012 08:50 AM in reply to: kwg06516

But before I do that I'd like to know what I did wrong in the first place.  I made a copy of the project and reduced it to the elements involved.  Can someone tell me why I can't get it to accept the shed as a dormer?

 


AutoCAD 2010


AutoCAD 2015


Revit 2015

*Expert Elite*
Alfredo_Medina
Posts: 2,834
Registered: ‎06-11-2009
Message 5 of 13 (494 Views)

Re: cannot close opening for gambrel shed dormer

12-10-2012 08:56 AM in reply to: kwg06516

I don't see problems in your model. I would just do a couple of things:

  • Join geometry, to glue the pieces together.
  • Vertical opening on the roof by extrusion, to cut a hole for the room on the second floor.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Planta1 Revit Online Consulting | info@planta1.com | my Twitter | The Planta1 Blog
Employee
loboarch
Posts: 1,012
Registered: ‎09-05-2003
Message 6 of 13 (491 Views)

Re: cannot close opening for gambrel shed dormer

12-10-2012 08:56 AM in reply to: kwg06516

The shed roof elements need to be first joined to the gambrel roof.  Once the roof join has happened you can use the dormer opening tool to cut the opening in the gambrel roof.

 

eidt: Alfredo beat me to the answer.  Probably because I had to wait for a file upgrade since I happened to have a development build running on my machine at the moment.  :smileyhappy:



Jeff Hanson
Sr. Subject Matter Expert
Autodesk, Revit User Experience
Distinguished Contributor
kwg06516
Posts: 193
Registered: ‎09-26-2008
Message 7 of 13 (477 Views)

Your suggestions aren't helpful if I can't pick that four...

12-10-2012 11:03 AM in reply to: loboarch

Your suggestions aren't helpful if I can't pick that fourth edge!

 

Why can't I pick it?  Even in Wireframe Revit refuses to let me pick it!  Is this some shortcomming of LT?

 


AutoCAD 2010


AutoCAD 2015


Revit 2015

Distinguished Contributor
kwg06516
Posts: 193
Registered: ‎09-26-2008
Message 8 of 13 (474 Views)

Look, it's letting me pick a wall surface no where near t...

12-10-2012 11:08 AM in reply to: kwg06516

Look, it's letting me pick a wall surface no where near the roof but not the roof itself!

 

dormerfail2.PNG

 


AutoCAD 2010


AutoCAD 2015


Revit 2015

Employee
loboarch
Posts: 1,012
Registered: ‎09-05-2003
Message 9 of 13 (473 Views)

Re: Your suggestions aren't helpful if I can't pick that four...

12-10-2012 11:08 AM in reply to: kwg06516

If by 4th edge you mean the one where the shed roof meets the gambrel, you need to join the 2 roofs first.  Otherwise Revit does not really "see" the edge where they meet.



Jeff Hanson
Sr. Subject Matter Expert
Autodesk, Revit User Experience
Distinguished Contributor
kwg06516
Posts: 193
Registered: ‎09-26-2008
Message 10 of 13 (461 Views)

Re: Your suggestions aren't helpful if I can't pick that four...

12-10-2012 11:25 AM in reply to: loboarch

Still not letting me do it.  Are any of you able to do it with the project I posted the way Jeff is suggesting?  Because I can't make it work.  I've wasted enough time and money on this problem.  I'll scratch build it by Alfredo's method and screw using the dormer tool because it's apparently not up to the task.

 

 


AutoCAD 2010


AutoCAD 2015


Revit 2015

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are You Going To Be @ AU 2014? Feel free to drop by our AU topic post and share your plans, plug a class that you're teaching, or simply check out who else from the community might be in attendance. Ohh and don't forgot to stop by the Autodesk Help | Learn | Collaborate booths in the Exhibit Hall and meet our community team if you get a chance!