Revit Architecture

Reply
Valued Mentor
ennujozlagam
Posts: 429
Registered: ‎10-08-2007
Message 1 of 11 (591 Views)
Accepted Solution

Calculated Value

591 Views, 10 Replies
12-13-2013 10:09 PM

Hi, Maybe you can help me with this I created calculated value Plot Ratio (Gross Floor Area/Site Area = Plot Ratio) but it come out result is "0". Any reason why it didnt calculted properly or what is the correct formula to achieve the coreect answers?

 

Please see Attached.

 

Thank you

If I understad well you must have several "area"s that form you global "gross area". And from the images you sent, i presume that, in order to have the global "gross area" you have probably unchecked the "itemize every instance" on the "sorting/grouping" tab of the schedule properties.

I suggest (in order to have the formula working) to try going to the "formating" tab of the schedule properties and check the "calculate totals" for each field concerned by the formula.

 

Hope this will work

aghis

Your initial question was about the "Plot Ratio" parameter not reporting any value. I have explained that it shows 0 because there is a Yes/No parameter that is NULL. Set that value to YES, and the Plot Ratio will start reporting a value. That's all. It seems that you are expanding the topic of your question to many other topics and detailes of your project that I am not familiar with.

 

*Expert Elite*
Alfredo_Medina
Posts: 2,834
Registered: ‎06-11-2009
Message 2 of 11 (574 Views)

Re: Calculated Value

12-14-2013 01:20 AM in reply to: ennujozlagam

That's strange. The formula is correct, and the type of data (number) is correct. I made a test with the same values, and I obtained a result, as shown in this image. There must be some other setting in your project causing this, but that is difficult to determine without seeing the file.

 

 

12-14-2013 4-18-05 AM.jpg

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Planta1 Revit Online Consulting | info@planta1.com | my Twitter | The Planta1 Blog
Valued Mentor
ennujozlagam
Posts: 429
Registered: ‎10-08-2007
Message 3 of 11 (561 Views)

Re: Calculated Value

12-14-2013 02:13 AM in reply to: Alfredo_Medina

Hi Alfredo,

 

Thank you for your reply, How are you going to access my file and how can you help me?

 

Thank you.

*Expert Elite*
Alfredo_Medina
Posts: 2,834
Registered: ‎06-11-2009
Message 4 of 11 (558 Views)

Re: Calculated Value

12-14-2013 02:19 AM in reply to: ennujozlagam

If you can post here a reduced, simplified, purged, version of your file showing that schedule, go ahead.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Planta1 Revit Online Consulting | info@planta1.com | my Twitter | The Planta1 Blog
Valued Mentor
ennujozlagam
Posts: 429
Registered: ‎10-08-2007
Message 5 of 11 (521 Views)

Re: Calculated Value

12-14-2013 06:36 PM in reply to: Alfredo_Medina

Hi Alfredo,

 

Thank you, I deleted the building structure but left the area, area tags and boundary lines because of the confidentiality of the projects im sorry about that.

 

i also attached screen shot because i cannot create Area Plan for " Site Area". What i did i used the road level then rename it as site plan, i dont know if this is correct?

 

Please see attached.

 

Thank you.

*Expert Elite*
Alfredo_Medina
Posts: 2,834
Registered: ‎06-11-2009
Message 6 of 11 (512 Views)

Re: Calculated Value

12-14-2013 07:14 PM in reply to: ennujozlagam

Plot ratio is = Gross Floor Area / Site Area , and Gross Floor Area has its own formula, which is if(Site, Area, 0 m²).

Site is a yes/no parameter, which at the moment is null, meaning not yes, nor no.

Solution: turn Site to be On, so that Gross Floor Area can take the value of Area, and therefore, Plot Ratio can obtain a value, too.

 

12-14-2013 10-03-56 PM.jpg

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Planta1 Revit Online Consulting | info@planta1.com | my Twitter | The Planta1 Blog
Valued Mentor
ennujozlagam
Posts: 429
Registered: ‎10-08-2007
Message 7 of 11 (500 Views)

Re: Calculated Value

12-14-2013 08:56 PM in reply to: Alfredo_Medina

Hi Alfredo,

 

Thank you for your reply, I Followed your instruction. But it seems like doesnt work (please see attached)

My total Gross floor area is the combinaation of from 1st storey to Lift motor room (Can seeit my posted RVT file.)

Total GFA is combination of "Production + Ancillary + Other Ancillary + Ancillary Office = Gross Floor Area"

 

Thank you

Valued Mentor
ennujozlagam
Posts: 429
Registered: ‎10-08-2007
Message 8 of 11 (499 Views)

Re: Calculated Value

12-14-2013 08:57 PM in reply to: ennujozlagam

Continue Attachment...

Valued Contributor
aghis_no
Posts: 83
Registered: ‎04-24-2006
Message 9 of 11 (470 Views)

Re: Calculated Value

12-15-2013 06:51 AM in reply to: ennujozlagam

If I understad well you must have several "area"s that form you global "gross area". And from the images you sent, i presume that, in order to have the global "gross area" you have probably unchecked the "itemize every instance" on the "sorting/grouping" tab of the schedule properties.

I suggest (in order to have the formula working) to try going to the "formating" tab of the schedule properties and check the "calculate totals" for each field concerned by the formula.

 

Hope this will work

aghis

*Expert Elite*
Alfredo_Medina
Posts: 2,834
Registered: ‎06-11-2009
Message 10 of 11 (453 Views)

Re: Calculated Value

12-15-2013 07:12 AM in reply to: ennujozlagam

Your initial question was about the "Plot Ratio" parameter not reporting any value. I have explained that it shows 0 because there is a Yes/No parameter that is NULL. Set that value to YES, and the Plot Ratio will start reporting a value. That's all. It seems that you are expanding the topic of your question to many other topics and detailes of your project that I am not familiar with.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Planta1 Revit Online Consulting | info@planta1.com | my Twitter | The Planta1 Blog
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are You Going To Be @ AU 2014? Feel free to drop by our AU topic post and share your plans, plug a class that you're teaching, or simply check out who else from the community might be in attendance. Ohh and don't forgot to stop by the Autodesk Help | Learn | Collaborate booths in the Exhibit Hall and meet our community team if you get a chance!