Revit Architecture

Revit Architecture

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
shawn
Posts: 105
Registered: ‎10-25-2010
Message 1 of 13 (3,065 Views)

Building pads don't seem to respect phases.

3065 Views, 12 Replies
11-09-2010 04:09 AM

I have multiple building pads in a model because I have multiple phases to represent. The problem I'm having is that the pads are cutting the topo surface in all phases. When I check the properties for each pads they all appear to bel properly identified as being created in the appropriate phase and yet there doesn't seem to be any way to turn off the building pad for future work in the existing conditions. See attached image.

 

I suppose the other possibility is that the pads are not really in the views, but the topo, having been excavated in one view,stays excavated in all views and won't fill in???

 

Can anyone explain this and tell me how to disable the pads where and when they're not needed? I've tried hiding the pad elements in the views, but that doesn't seem to do anything. 

 

Thank you.

Mentor
bt1138
Posts: 253
Registered: ‎02-26-2009
Message 2 of 13 (3,053 Views)

Re: Building pads don't seem to respect phases.

11-09-2010 09:30 AM in reply to: shawn

Perhaps adding a series of pads, one into each phase, would solve your problem. 

 

I don't think Revit can keep track of the changes to the pad that occur differently in each phase. Would be nice if it could.

Distinguished Contributor
shawn
Posts: 105
Registered: ‎10-25-2010
Message 3 of 13 (2,876 Views)

Re: Building pads don't seem to respect phases.

02-02-2011 08:00 AM in reply to: bt1138

This question doesn't seem to have gotten much traction from anyone - maybe the answer is so simple that no one wants to bother, but I still haven't figured out what to do about building pads in new construction that show up in existing conditions. For now I'm working around it by deleting the new work building pad when I need to document an as-built condition. But surely there must be a better way.

 

Would someone please take a stab at this.

 

Much thanks

Shawn Graham

Designer.

Employee
ryan.duell
Posts: 734
Registered: ‎06-01-2010
Message 4 of 13 (2,872 Views)

Re: Building pads don't seem to respect phases.

02-02-2011 08:10 AM in reply to: shawn

This is a limitation with Revit and how the host [toposurface] is cut by the building pad.  You can reproduce this same behavior in a simple project as well. 

 

The underlying issue is that the toposurface has 1 phase.  You can have multiple pads on multiple phases, but when the toposurface is cut it creates an infill element which goes down and around the edge of the pad.  While this infill has a phase as well, and can be overridden, there is no infill element for the portion of the toposurface cut at the top of the surface; which would show it as it was before the pad was added:

 

Video Example


Also, for example, if you create a phase before any pads were added the toposurface will still display the opening:

 

Video Example


This behavior is similar to some other Revit element types such as shaft openings.  There is no ideal automatic approach for this scenario.  It would be a manual workaround, such as creating a second toposurface and setting the correct phase information to fill in the opening so it is visible in the existing as covered but the second toposurface is demolished with the pad placement in the later phase:

 

Video Example


Thank you,



Ryan Duell
Autodesk, Inc.

Revit Clinic
@revitclinic


Distinguished Contributor
shawn
Posts: 105
Registered: ‎10-25-2010
Message 5 of 13 (2,836 Views)

Re: Building pads don't seem to respect phases.

02-06-2011 11:07 PM in reply to: ryan.duell

Thanks Ryan, that's pretty much what I suspected - so what to do? You mentioned creating a new topo surface to cover the cut, but I tried that and couldn't get Revit to snap to the existing topo which is irregulary sloped and has a lot of corners. I figured that if I played with tweaking the new topo surface I could eventually get it close, but this would easily take several hours and the result would be less than perfect. Not very satisfactory.

 

For such a condition, do you recommend duplicating the model for existing conditions and just deleting all new construction elements? Or what? Is this something that future editions of Revit will address or is this a terminal disease with no hope of recovery?

 

Shawn Graham

Designer.

Active Member
lgmartinelli
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎03-23-2009
Message 6 of 13 (2,509 Views)

Re: Building pads don't seem to respect phases.

10-06-2011 05:58 PM in reply to: shawn

Hi, I usually fix this creating one site in the existing phase (demolished in the existing phase) and a copy of that in 1st phase. It should work fine, but the problem is when I create a pad in the existing phase (this pad will remain forever and ever) it doesn't cut the site properly, because I have the other site on a different phase, well why is the site on the 1st phase appearing in the existing phase? If I delete it the pad cut the site correctly... Do you have any suggestion?

 

I understand it is a Revit limitation, but Is there any prevision to Autodesk fix this problem? It's been through many versions and is hard to explain to the client that the software doesn't accept phases for topography.

 

Thank you

Member
ilyamoto
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎10-09-2012
Message 7 of 13 (2,088 Views)

Re: Building pads don't seem to respect phases.

10-23-2012 12:37 PM in reply to: shawn

why not use graded region with a pad on a new construction?

New Member
brentonw
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎02-19-2010
Message 8 of 13 (1,666 Views)

Re: Building pads don't seem to respect phases.

04-29-2013 01:39 PM in reply to: ilyamoto

I have this same issue and I'm using Revit 2014. I cannot get the pads to stop cutting the topo in the correct phase. It is a disaster. I have tried everything I can think of. Graded regions don't seem to work either. Short of making a new file for each phase I cannot even come up with a desent work around. I have pads that are being created and demolished in different phases of the project.

 

If anyone from autodesk is ever looking at these boards, please please do somthing to improve site creation in Revit! It has to be the weakest part of the software. Site tools are next to useless. I hate pads!!! Our firm avoids them whenever possible.

 

I LOVE Revit, but this aspect of it blows chuncks! 

New Member
mattkelley7979
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎07-18-2013
Message 9 of 13 (1,448 Views)

Re: Building pads don't seem to respect phases.

07-18-2013 01:13 PM in reply to: shawn

Duplicated the topography into various design options is the best way I've found to deal with 'phased' pads. The following post involves grouping pads as well, but this isn't necessary to acheive the primary goal of correct pad display in mulitple phases: 

 

http://whatrevitwants.blogspot.com/2012/11/revit-building-pads-topography-and.html

 

 

New Member
starslicer
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎04-10-2008
Message 10 of 13 (1,039 Views)

Re: Building pads don't seem to respect phases.

01-03-2014 09:25 AM in reply to: shawn

Think we'll ever get this fixed in my lifetime? Working on an existing project with 3 phases all with various new and demolished pads and it's a mess. I could do it with graded regions if I wanted to model earth all week I guess. I just want to send a model to civil so they know whats going on in each phase and I can't. Same problems with shaft cuts also as mentioned before. I want to demolish part of an existing floor and I have to do all kinds of crazy stuff to get that done like making another floor and pasting it into the hole the cut in the future creates in the past.

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.