Revit Architecture Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Revit Architecture Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Revit Architecture topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Brick Soldier Course over arch-top french door in stone wall

5 REPLIES 5
Message 1 of 6
gdfisher
9517 Views, 5 Replies

Brick Soldier Course over arch-top french door in stone wall

Has anyone found a successful method to add a brick soldier course over an arch-top door in a stone wall? I'd like the brick type and quantity to show up in the materials list. I'm a student using a complimentary copy of Revit Architecture 2011.

5 REPLIES 5
Message 2 of 6
rosskirby
in reply to: gdfisher

Quantity of brick in an arch seems like overkill to me, but to each his own.

Make a generic model of a brick, load it into your door family, place it, constrain it, array it as required.  Set up parameters to control the spacing, array distance and radius, and tie them to the size and radius of your door.

Ross Kirby
Principal
Dynamik Design
www.dynamikdesign.com
Message 3 of 6
gdfisher
in reply to: rosskirby

Thanks for taking the time to post your suggestion. Re. Soldier course quantity, project ios a large residence with every wall penetration framed with brick - top, sides and bottom - not an inconsequential amount for costing. Thanks again.

Message 4 of 6
rosskirby

I was assuming that the rest of the building was brick as well, in which case the number of bricks in an arch is relatively inconsequential.  I would suggest using a solid extrusion to represent the shape of the arch, use an array of model lines to represent the mortar joints, and apply a material placeholder in the family.  Then, in the project, assign that arch the same material as you use for the rest of the brick, then do a simple quantity takeoff schedule.

Ross Kirby
Principal
Dynamik Design
www.dynamikdesign.com
Message 5 of 6
ccollins