Revit Architecture

Reply
Valued Contributor
Joris3P
Posts: 86
Registered: ‎10-26-2009
Message 1 of 4 (2,593 Views)

beam not visible

2593 Views, 3 Replies
05-17-2010 12:32 AM
Hi,

Revit Architecture 2011.
Problem: a drawn beam isn't visible / selectable.

Steps I took:
Structure > Beam > selected a beam > on first floor plan

Section shows the drawn beam. However I can't selected / move /see the beam.

The beam is below the first floor so that I can't see the beam is logical to me.
When I go to the level below (basement) I don't see any dotted lines indicating a beam above it. And again the beam can't be selected.

My questions:
* how do you work with beams in Revit (adepting vis.settings everytime?)
* how does Revit show beams above the cutlevel (a dotted line). If not standard: is there a workaround?

Kind regards,

3Pinter
*Expert Elite*
ccollins
Posts: 866
Registered: ‎09-28-2009
Message 2 of 4 (2,593 Views)

Re: beam not visible

05-18-2010 02:14 PM in reply to: Joris3P
Perhaps make a Level or a Reference Plane to locate the beams on, and then work in that work plan or plan level
when editing beams.

cheers
Cliff B. Collins
Registered Architect/BIM Manager
Thalden Boyd Emery Architects
St. Louis, MO
Distinguished Contributor
krispy
Posts: 316
Registered: ‎11-01-2004
Message 3 of 4 (2,593 Views)

Re: beam not visible

05-18-2010 09:33 PM in reply to: Joris3P
in the view properties set the "Underlay" to be the same level of the current view and the "Underlay Orientation" to "Reflected Ceiling Plan". (See Attached).
New Member
aaurnab
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎07-03-2014
Message 4 of 4 (418 Views)

Re: beam not visible

07-03-2014 02:46 AM in reply to: krispy

I want to omit the slab lines

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.