Revit Architecture

Reply
Employee
Joe.Charpentier
Posts: 938
Registered: ‎02-28-2006
Message 11 of 19 (343 Views)

Re: Architectural Plan

06-25-2012 04:11 AM in reply to: abir.acharjee

Have you tried changing the view clip settings?

When you are in the plan view you want to modify, with nothing selected go to the properties palette.

Find the "Depth Clipping" setting.

Change  it from “No clip” to “Clip with line” or “Clip without line”.

 

Does that accomplish what you are trying to do?

 

Joe 



Contributor
abir.acharjee
Posts: 18
Registered: ‎06-20-2012
Message 12 of 19 (337 Views)

Re: Architectural Plan

06-25-2012 04:28 AM in reply to: abir.acharjee

Is this waht you are able to see in level 1 plan view?

Contributor
abir.acharjee
Posts: 18
Registered: ‎06-20-2012
Message 13 of 19 (335 Views)

Re: Architectural Plan

06-25-2012 04:30 AM in reply to: Joe.Charpentier

Hi Joe,

 

Thanks.

 

Yes I have tried, depth clipping (clip no lines), underlay (none) and view range(1,1,0,0). Any thought?

Valued Mentor
vector2
Posts: 2,058
Registered: ‎03-28-2009
Message 14 of 19 (330 Views)

Re: Architectural Plan

06-25-2012 04:45 AM in reply to: abir.acharjee

abir,

 

If you follow Joe's advice you will get nowhere. That's because

this mass has to be cut with a void in the mass editor. It WILL 

NOT cut with the view range Depth Clipping set to Clip with line.

 

The only reason it LOOKS like that's what I did, is because I

did some Revit gymnastics. I sent it out as a dwg and brought

it back into the family editor and loaded it into the project and

THEN it will cut with the view range. 

 

Depends a lot about what you want to do and how you want to do it.

 

 

 

Contributor
abir.acharjee
Posts: 18
Registered: ‎06-20-2012
Message 15 of 19 (311 Views)

Re: Architectural Plan

06-25-2012 05:43 AM in reply to: vector2

Vector2,

 

Wonderfully amazing!

 

Your solution of taking out and bring in the mass is quite right I believe.

 

Do you think there can be some setting soemwhere to show the below portions of the mass or make the lines type/ colour of these lines to white or invisible although it is present?

 

Also it would be great if you can share how your great techniques of taking the mass out and in.

 

Thanks.

Valued Mentor
vector2
Posts: 2,058
Registered: ‎03-28-2009
Message 16 of 19 (271 Views)

Re: Architectural Plan

06-26-2012 12:56 AM in reply to: abir.acharjee

1. In a 3D wireframe view of this mass, and from the
Application menu, export to dwg.

2. Give it a name and save on your desktop. (Uncheck
Export views on sheets... probably doesn't matter)

3. Application menu> New> Family> Generic Template.

4. In the family editor, Insert Tab> Import CAD.

5. Change colors to black and white, (probably already
black), then click on the dwg on your desktop.

6. Don't touch anything in the family editor just click
load into project.
(Although you will probably want to take it back into
the family editor to scale it).

7. Then in the project, place that component on level one.

*Expert Elite*
Alfredo_Medina
Posts: 2,834
Registered: ‎06-11-2009
Message 17 of 19 (261 Views)

Re: Architectural Plan

06-26-2012 03:59 AM in reply to: Joe.Charpentier

There is absolutely no need to do this in CAD, then import CAD into Revit, and all that. The OP should do some research about this topic. It is already explained in Wikihelp. Start from  "Mass Floors Overview".

 

I think a forum is a good place for orientation and discussion, but should not be understood as a replacement for training.

 

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Planta1 Revit Online Consulting | info@planta1.com | my Twitter | The Planta1 Blog
Valued Mentor
vector2
Posts: 2,058
Registered: ‎03-28-2009
Message 18 of 19 (216 Views)

Re: Architectural Plan

06-26-2012 09:00 AM in reply to: abir.acharjee

abir,

 

Like I said, unless you cut it with a void in the mass editor, that's

what you have to do.

 

Unless Alfredo can show us a third way. Let's all wait and see

what he comes up with.

Valued Mentor
vector2
Posts: 2,058
Registered: ‎03-28-2009
Message 19 of 19 (209 Views)

Re: Architectural Plan

06-26-2012 09:45 AM in reply to: Alfredo_Medina

Alfredo,

 

I don't disagree with your holistic approach to learning Revit,

but the OP wanted to know how to cut this geometry in plan with

the view range. They even posted images of what they thought

it should look like. That's why I asked them several times to be

sure what they wanted to do.

 

I did tell them about cutting the geometry in the mass editor,

but that's not what they wanted to do. When I showed them

how to do what THEY wanted to do, they knew that was what

they were looking for.

 

Edited by
Discussion_Admin

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are You Going To Be @ AU 2014? Feel free to drop by our AU topic post and share your plans, plug a class that you're teaching, or simply check out who else from the community might be in attendance. Ohh and don't forgot to stop by the Autodesk Help | Learn | Collaborate booths in the Exhibit Hall and meet our community team if you get a chance!