Revit Architecture

Reply
Contributor
Shawn
Posts: 22
Registered: ‎11-07-2012
Message 1 of 7 (360 Views)
Accepted Solution

Another sloping question

360 Views, 6 Replies
03-08-2013 02:57 PM

I can't find it or figure it out.

How can I make a floor or slab object that has both a primary slope and a cross slope? e.g. a sidewalk going down hill with a 2% cross slope.

I know about variable thickness and Shape editing tools, but that doesn't work. I don't want the thickness to vary.

And slope arrows, you can only have one slope arrow per floor/slab. You can make the arrow a diagonal line, but the math required to figure that out is above my pay grade and the result ends up being more of a potatoe chip.

 

There must be somthing simple I'm missing.

 

Thank you.

Hi Shawn, edit floor type, uncheck box 'variable'. Anders

Distinguished Contributor
awes
Posts: 131
Registered: ‎10-05-2011
Message 2 of 7 (338 Views)

Re: Another sloping question

03-09-2013 12:55 AM in reply to: Shawn

Shawn, are you looking for this kind of solution? Anders

Contributor
Shawn
Posts: 22
Registered: ‎11-07-2012
Message 3 of 7 (287 Views)

Re: Another sloping question

03-11-2013 09:31 AM in reply to: Shawn

Yes, I think so. You are using degrees and metric elevations, but the idea is the same.

If there was some hint in your response as to how you did this, I don't see it.

Thanks.

*Expert Elite*
constantin.stroescu
Posts: 1,084
Registered: ‎10-29-2008
Message 4 of 7 (233 Views)

Re: Another sloping question

03-13-2013 06:02 AM in reply to: Shawn

what awes proposes is to select the floor slab (or roof slab) and to use Shape Editing > Modify Sub Elements ...it is not at all complicated 

Constantin Stroescu
BIM Manager AGD
Contributor
Shawn
Posts: 22
Registered: ‎11-07-2012
Message 5 of 7 (212 Views)

Re: Another sloping question

03-13-2013 08:11 AM in reply to: constantin.stroescu

Yes, I understand you can edit points to change elevation, but that changes the thickness of the slab so you end up with a non-uniform slab. If you just want a 4" (10cm) slab with a slope and cross slope, that does not seem to be possible.

Distinguished Contributor
awes
Posts: 131
Registered: ‎10-05-2011
Message 6 of 7 (207 Views)

Re: Another sloping question

03-13-2013 08:23 AM in reply to: Shawn

Hi Shawn, edit floor type, uncheck box 'variable'. Anders

Contributor
Shawn
Posts: 22
Registered: ‎11-07-2012
Message 7 of 7 (197 Views)

Re: Another sloping question

03-13-2013 09:54 AM in reply to: awes

Okay, I get it. Slope and Cross slope has to be done with Shape Edit tools only. Uncheck variable in material edit and slab will stay same thickness.

 

Slope arrows and shape editing cannot be used simultaneously. It's one or the other.

 

Thank you both for your help.

 

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are You Going To Be @ AU 2014? Feel free to drop by our AU topic post and share your plans, plug a class that you're teaching, or simply check out who else from the community might be in attendance. Ohh and don't forgot to stop by the Autodesk Help | Learn | Collaborate booths in the Exhibit Hall and meet our community team if you get a chance!