Revit Architecture

Reply
Active Member
nematsvehclav
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎12-11-2011
Message 1 of 4 (244 Views)

Aligned Dimensions Shift While Moved

244 Views, 3 Replies
12-11-2011 07:26 AM

 

http://youtu.be/07GXfzCGijM


How is it possible that I place an aligned dimension between two paralel grids and the dimensions changes as I drag it up and down? First of all, in order to be able to place an aligned dimensions the objects have to be absolutely paralel to each other, so I don't get why when I move the dimension it changes. If the grids were really not paralel to each other Revit shouldn't allow me to place the aligned dimension in the first place, isn't that right?

 

Contributor
l.tucker
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎12-12-2011
Message 2 of 4 (219 Views)

Re: Aligned Dimensions Shift While Moved

12-12-2011 11:47 AM in reply to: nematsvehclav

That is pretty weird behavior, but I think it's just a dimension that falls outside of Revit's precision. Revit is pretty accurate (I heard something like down to 1/16th of an inch), but in your video I'm noticing that we're talking mere decimal points changing. It's frustrating, but technically "working".

Employee
loboarch
Posts: 998
Registered: ‎09-05-2003
Message 3 of 4 (207 Views)

Re: Aligned Dimensions Shift While Moved

12-13-2011 07:11 AM in reply to: nematsvehclav

The behavior you show in the video is very strange.  I would send that file to suport to take a look at.  My only guess is the geometry was created with a DWG file and there is a small error in there causing the problem.  Aligned dims should not allow themselves to be placed if the elements are not parallel.

 

If you dont wantto send to support you could strip the file down to just the grid lines and post here for people to take a look at and maybe get an explination of some kind.



Jeff Hanson
Sr. Subject Matter Expert
Autodesk, Revit User Experience
Active Member
nematsvehclav
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎12-11-2011
Message 4 of 4 (182 Views)

Re: Aligned Dimensions Shift While Moved

12-17-2011 04:46 PM in reply to: nematsvehclav

Yeah, it was correct that there was a DWG link in there and it, most likely, was the culprit. I fixed the file already, but thanks for the replies anyway. Still don't see why Revit behaved the way it did. ALIGNED DIMS ARE NOT SUPPOSED TO BE ABLE TO PLACE ON NON-PARALEL OBJECTS....

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.