Revit Architecture

Revit Architecture

Reply
Valued Contributor
sgoodmansen
Posts: 59
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 1 of 4 (311 Views)

A wish for a better fillet command - trim/extend

311 Views, 3 Replies
07-18-2012 08:58 AM

If there is a better board to put wishes on I haven't seen it.  I also posted this on AUGI's wish list today.

 

I wish the trim/extend command would give you a fillet option in the options bar.  when checked you would enter the radius or if blank the radius could be manually drawn like the current fillet does.

 

This would save a lot of time creating fillets.  The current method of drawing a line, selecting fillet arc, selecting 2 lines, fixing the radius is very click intensive.  By allowing the command to be a part of trim/extend, you could simply set your radius and fillet a ton of lines very quickly.

 

The other advantage is that for autocad users learning revit, this method is very similar in process to the autocad fillet command and dovetails nicely with the trim/extend command's method of picking objects on the side you want to keep.

Product Support
Lance.Coffey
Posts: 333
Registered: ‎05-14-2010
Message 2 of 4 (288 Views)

Re: A wish for a better fillet command - trim/extend

07-19-2012 02:19 PM in reply to: sgoodmansen

I can see how setting the arc radius ahead of time would reduce the clicks. When I tested this (using the current fillet arc option), it looks like there would be three less clicks per arc if the radius could be specified ahead of time.

The following link is setup for you to submit feature requests directly to our development group:
http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet/index?siteID=123112&id=1109794



Lance Coffey
*Expert Elite*
Alfredo_Medina
Posts: 2,819
Registered: ‎06-11-2009
Message 3 of 4 (285 Views)

Re: A wish for a better fillet command - trim/extend

07-19-2012 03:14 PM in reply to: sgoodmansen

Even though there is not a fillet option included in the Trim/Extend corner tool,  there is a "radius" tool that can be activated before starting to draw a chain of lines or walls.

 

fillet_corners.jpg

 

However, I agree; it would be nice to have a "radius" option for the Trim/Extend corner tool.

 

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Planta1 Revit Online Consulting | info@planta1.com | my Twitter | The Planta1 Blog
Valued Contributor
sgoodmansen
Posts: 59
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 4 of 4 (280 Views)

Re: A wish for a better fillet command - trim/extend

07-19-2012 03:20 PM in reply to: sgoodmansen

Thanks Lance, I submitted the feature request with the link you provided.

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.