Revit Architecture Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Revit Architecture Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Revit Architecture topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

A little help Host view vs Linked View.

11 REPLIES 11
SOLVED
Message 1 of 12
cadmancan
7548 Views, 11 Replies

A little help Host view vs Linked View.

So I am a sub-contractor of an architect.  I have been typically linking in the arch model.  To get a view I can use, I have been duplicating a view in the arch model with the elemetns I dont want visible and use a linked view to show my devices againt the modified background of the architects model.  I want to get to a point where I can simply use the host view and not have to maniuplate anything.  So here are my questions.

How does Revit determine what view of the arch's model will be seen (host view)?

Until recently, I havent had any issues with duplicating the 1st floor, with certain elements turned off, use that as my linked view in my model.  Yesterday no matter what I did to a certain view in the arch model, the same view I was looking at in my model didnt look anything alike.  Anotherwords nested arch elements were visible or ON in my model that werent visible when I was looking at them in the arch model.  If I was using that view as linked view, they should have looked the same, Right?  Tried using view range but the arch model want being effected by the changes just the devices in my model?

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

11 REPLIES 11
Message 2 of 12
cadmancan
in reply to: cadmancan

Near the last part of the last paragraph wasnt clear.

Tried using view range but the arch model wasn't being effected by the changes just the devices in my model.  So my devices would appear or dissapear based on the chanegs I made in view range but the linked arch model wasnt changing at all.  What would casue this?

Message 3 of 12
CoreyDaun