Revit Architecture

Reply
Contributor
rientsbruinsma
Posts: 18
Registered: ‎11-29-2012
Message 1 of 17 (362 Views)
Accepted Solution

A couple of families Questions....

362 Views, 16 Replies
01-06-2014 03:58 AM

1, Electrical symbols. When I lay out my electricals I want to place the symbols in plan independently fron the modeled switch. When I move the symbols apart in plan so they are legible the sockets and switches in elev are about 500mm apart when they should be right next to one another.


Is there any way of moving the plan symbol independently from the modeled component with out having to use 2 different families, essentilly doing the job twice?

 

2, Drawers in a wardrobe.

I've created paramentic wardobes, and would like to create a nested family for the internal drawer unit, but would like to choose how many drawers the nested unit has. I know how to link parameters from as nested family, but I don't know how to turn things on/off.

 

Is there a way of doing this?

 

Many Thanks

 

 

*Expert Elite*
Paul_F_Aubin
Posts: 97
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 2 of 17 (331 Views)

Re: A couple of families Questions....

01-06-2014 07:40 AM in reply to: rientsbruinsma

Both of your questions require work in the family editor. 

 

For No. 1, you can edit the elecrical symbol and add a parameter to the 2D symbol that is used in plan. This parameter should be an instance parameter and if you create corresponding reference planes, you can get it to show those little control handle grips when you select it. With or without these grips, you will have a field on the properties palette when you select it. You can call it something like "Plan Offset" and then use this value to move it from its home position. The tricky part is getting it to allow both negative and positive values (so you can move left or right). Dimensioned parameters will break if you change from pos to neg or vice-versa. So you have to create a reference plane at some distance away, then reference to that and use formulas to make the input values more logical. It is a decent amount of work, but certainly posible. 

 

For No. 2, select the nested element and on the properties palette, there is a "Visible" checkbox. You said you were familiar with linking up parameters. You can find the small "Associate Familiy Parameter" button here next to the checkbox. Link up a parameter to this and you will have control over the visibility via a parameter. 

 

I hope that helps get you started. Let me know if you have other questions. 

paul

Paul F. Aubin

Paul F. Aubin Consulting Services
Check out my newest book: Renaissance Revit!
http://www.paulaubin.com
Revit Essentials Training at lynda.com/paulaubin
*Expert Elite*
rosskirby
Posts: 830
Registered: ‎04-08-2008
Message 3 of 17 (330 Views)

Re: A couple of families Questions....

01-06-2014 07:41 AM in reply to: rientsbruinsma

For your first question, about the electrical symbols, there are 2 ways you could go about it.  You could set offset X and offset Y instance parameters for the nested symbol family, and then adjust the symbol location as you see fit.  Kind of a pain, but workable.  The other option would be to create a tag that has the symbol nested in it, then you can tag the family and drag the symbol where you want it.  Depending on how many different symbols you want to do this with, the second solution could get cumbersome fast.

 

For your second question, you can array the nested drawer family as necessary, then mouse over the array, click on the array line (it'll have a number indicating how many instances there are and a little tick mark along the line next to each instance), then go to the drop down in the options bar that will let you assign a parameter to the array, call it "No. Drawers" or something similar, and you're good to go.

Ross Kirby
BIM Manager
Arcturis
Contributor
rientsbruinsma
Posts: 18
Registered: ‎11-29-2012
Message 4 of 17 (317 Views)

Re: A couple of families Questions....

01-06-2014 08:33 AM in reply to: rosskirby

Brilliant, thank you.

 

I have attached the movable dimmer switch.

It was really tricky getting the symbol to attach to both reference planes. It seems to work OK in the end, grip editing would be nice, but it does the trick.:smileywink:

 

I'll try the drawers now - I think that might be a bit more involved.

*Expert Elite*
Paul_F_Aubin
Posts: 97
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 5 of 17 (307 Views)

Re: A couple of families Questions....

01-06-2014 09:28 AM in reply to: rientsbruinsma

Seems to work pretty well. I saw grips when I loaded it. See image attached. 

paul

Paul F. Aubin

Paul F. Aubin Consulting Services
Check out my newest book: Renaissance Revit!
http://www.paulaubin.com
Revit Essentials Training at lynda.com/paulaubin
Contributor
rientsbruinsma
Posts: 18
Registered: ‎11-29-2012
Message 6 of 17 (299 Views)

Re: A couple of families Questions....

01-06-2014 09:41 AM in reply to: Paul_F_Aubin

Ahhh. cool. I saw those but assumed they were moving the whole thing.

Thank you.

*Expert Elite*
Paul_F_Aubin
Posts: 97
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 7 of 17 (276 Views)

Re: A couple of families Questions....

01-06-2014 11:50 AM in reply to: rientsbruinsma
They're a little flaky, but do the job.
paul

Paul F. Aubin

Paul F. Aubin Consulting Services
Check out my newest book: Renaissance Revit!
http://www.paulaubin.com
Revit Essentials Training at lynda.com/paulaubin
Contributor
rientsbruinsma
Posts: 18
Registered: ‎11-29-2012
Message 8 of 17 (233 Views)

Re: A couple of families Questions....

01-07-2014 09:08 AM in reply to: Paul_F_Aubin

Is there a way of creating a hierarchy amongst the parameters?

 

I have a number of draws in thew same family but with 3 different depths and when I change the depth of a drawer I want the others to shuffle up & down to suit. It works ok with just the drawers, but I want a top as well which would remain 5mm clear of the top drawer and move up & down as the make up of the drawer stach changes.

 

Revit seems to want to keep the cabinet top still & move the drawers which are otherwise constrained & won't do it.

 

Any ideas?

*Expert Elite*
Paul_F_Aubin
Posts: 97
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 9 of 17 (230 Views)

Re: A couple of families Questions....

01-07-2014 09:13 AM in reply to: rientsbruinsma

You might want to try <Family Types> parameters. I did a class on this at Autodesk University this year. You can download the paper from my website. It walks through a tutorial on using Family Types parameters and applying to a similar example. Posting links here always seems problematic. So please type it: www dot paulaubin dot com slash AU

 

That will take you to my AU page. Then download the Advanced Families Lab PDF and accompanying files. 

 

Hope that helps. 

paul

Paul F. Aubin

Paul F. Aubin Consulting Services
Check out my newest book: Renaissance Revit!
http://www.paulaubin.com
Revit Essentials Training at lynda.com/paulaubin
Contributor
rientsbruinsma
Posts: 18
Registered: ‎11-29-2012
Message 10 of 17 (224 Views)

Re: A couple of families Questions....

01-07-2014 09:19 AM in reply to: Paul_F_Aubin
Thanks Paul,

I'll read through it, but in the meantime I might just place them manually as I'm going nowhere pretty quick at the moment.

Thanks,
Ryan.
Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.