Revit Architecture

Revit Architecture

Reply
Active Contributor
32 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎01-06-2014
Post 1 of 9
Accepted Solution

3D Orbit settings - center of rotation

2440 Views, 8 Replies
01-31-2014 10:15 AM

Other than grab an item, is there a way to set the center of rotation?

 

At first I thought it was a large, linked, site cad file.  I found some extraneous remnants in autocad and removed them, so the linked file is tight to the site, however it is still several blocks large, unless an item is selected 3D orbit runs off the page!

 

More than frustrating.

 

Thank you,

Trevor Pan
trevorpan.com
When you use the steering wheel navigation you can select a different pivot point for rotation without selecting an object.
Valued Contributor
79 Posts
4 Kudos
Registered: ‎04-01-2009
Post 2 of 9

Re: 3D Orbit settings - center of rotation

01-31-2014 12:15 PM in reply to: trevorpan
You don't have to select the item, just hover over it so it highlights and 3D Orbit will use that as the center of rotstion
Active Contributor
32 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎01-06-2014
Post 3 of 9

Re: 3D Orbit settings - center of rotation

01-31-2014 12:57 PM in reply to: derrickmoore
Hi Rick,

I try that and it just it flips out of view.

Can you think of anything that would cause this? When the file was fresh, it rotated fine. As I created more elements it started doing this.

Thank you,
Trevor Pan
trevorpan.com
Employee
1,016 Posts
110 Kudos
Registered: ‎09-05-2003
Post 4 of 9

Re: 3D Orbit settings - center of rotation

01-31-2014 01:30 PM in reply to: trevorpan
When you use the steering wheel navigation you can select a different pivot point for rotation without selecting an object.


Jeff Hanson
Sr. Subject Matter Expert
Autodesk, Revit User Experience
Active Contributor
32 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎01-06-2014
Post 5 of 9

Re: 3D Orbit settings - center of rotation

01-31-2014 02:18 PM in reply to: loboarch
HI Jeff,

The orient to view, is what I was looking for. Boy, it sure was hard to look up in the help file. Always called something un-intuitive.

Anyhow, I thank you greatly.

Trevor Pan
trevorpan.com
Active Contributor
32 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎01-06-2014
Post 6 of 9

Re: 3D Orbit settings - center of rotation

01-31-2014 02:27 PM in reply to: trevorpan
One more thing Jeff,

Can you set a point of rotation?

So, it seems unless orient to view was checked, as you helped me find, the point of rotation was the site plan, cad link. A few blocks away from this particular building.

I tried turning on the project base point, but it still utilized the center of cad file?

If you have a larger building at the master plan level, orient to view does the same thing..because the center of that view could be blocks away.

Maybe a new feature?

Just a few thoughts,

Trevor Pan
trevorpan.com
Employee
1,016 Posts
110 Kudos
Registered: ‎09-05-2003
Post 7 of 9

Re: 3D Orbit settings - center of rotation

02-03-2014 08:26 AM in reply to: trevorpan

The Steering Wheel will allow you to reset the point of rotation in a view.

 

center_pivot.png

This should stay the pivot point of the view until you reset it.  It might reset if you close Revit/the project so you might have to reset the point each time you open the project.



Jeff Hanson
Sr. Subject Matter Expert
Autodesk, Revit User Experience
New Member
1 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎03-20-2014
Post 8 of 9

Re: 3D Orbit settings - center of rotation

03-20-2014 09:16 PM in reply to: trevorpan

I've have a similar problem.

When I orbit using my mouse (Shirt + Wheel) I rotate around the model fine, then for no apparent reason it decides to randomly move the pivot point off in no mans land. If i close and re-open the view it resets back to the orginal pivot point, but this is frustrating to say the least. 

 

 Is this a setting or a "known issue to Autodesk"?

 

Distinguished Contributor
170 Posts
10 Kudos
Registered: ‎03-22-2011
Post 9 of 9

Re: 3D Orbit settings - center of rotation

03-21-2014 05:47 AM in reply to: trevorpan
Personally I have found either a "unclean" site surveys from a DWG to cause this issue, or at times I have accidentally added a component or a wall, not paying attention of it's base point, then finding a wall in mid space.
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are you interested in helping shape the future of the Autodesk Community? To participate in this brief usability study, please click here. Your time and input is greatly appreciated!