Revit API Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Revit API Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Revit API topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Using forms in your application

8 REPLIES 8
SOLVED
Message 1 of 9
kennethgv
3149 Views, 8 Replies

Using forms in your application

Hello there.

(I am new to develop in Revit API and programming the application in C#).

I have a push button which I want to start op a form called utility_room_data. I tried following Autodesk Revit 2015 Help as close as possible, but there is no mention of how to implement forms or other addons.

My code is as follows in App.cs:
string thisAssemblyPath = Assembly.GetExecutingAssembly().Location;
PushButtonData buttonUtility = new PushButtonData("ButtonUtilityRoom", "Place utility room", thisAssemblyPath, "Likan_Room_Numbering.Utility_room_data");

My code is as follows in Utility_room_data:
namespace Likan_Room_Numbering
{
[Transaction(TransactionMode.Manual)]
public partial class Utility_room_data : Form
{
public Utility_room_data()
{
InitializeComponent();
}
}
}

When I push the button in Revit I get following errormessage:

Revit cannot run the external command "Place utility room". Contact the provider for assistance. Information they provided to Revit about their identity: The Building Coder, http://thebuildingcoder.typepad.com

I am wondering whether I am missing some standard code or some more code in App.cs when adding forms etc. or in Utility_room_data.cs for that matter?

Can somebody please help or navigate me in the right direction?

Help is highly appreciated! Smiley Happy

8 REPLIES 8
Message 2 of 9
kennethgv
in reply to: kennethgv

Anyone?
Message 3 of 9
kennethgv

I have tried implementing the example shown in the revit api guide:
http://help.autodesk.com/view/RVT/2015/ENU/?guid=GUID-0A0D656E-5C44-49E8-A891-6C29F88E35C0

But unfortunately it does still not work. Any help?
Message 4 of 9
arnostlobel