Revit API Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Revit API Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Revit API topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Revit Server REST API and Project Data Exporting

7 REPLIES 7
Message 1 of 8
Anonymous
2716 Views, 7 Replies

Revit Server REST API and Project Data Exporting

Hello all:

I am completely brand new to Revit and I've only recently (within the last two hours) downloaded the API SDK.  With that being said, I am a seasoned software engineer and I'm well versed in .NET and REST API principles.

After reviewing all the documentation and samples, I'm not really seeing what I'm looking for and I'm curious if there is a developer WIKI or more comprehensive information regarding the Revit Server API and its capabilities.

The goal I am trying to accomplish is a web API where I can do light bi-directional updates of project data and also relational data exporting for reporting. For example:

1) A remote end user can update or add a new piece of equipment or a room to an existing project

2) Given a project all information can be exported to an external SQL SERVER database, json, an xml file, whatever the case may be.

#1 Does the current Revit Server API support updating project specific information? I see that there is support for GETS or retrieving information about a given model or entity, and also admin data modifications regarding MOVES, DELETES, etc..but is there the ability to update and add specific detail to a project?

Is there any documentation on this?

#2 Is there a way to get all information regarding a model/project in a transferable format? I have read a little bit about ODBC links and DBLink, but I'm looking for an API enabled way to get data and then push it into a secondary system.  JSON, CSV, XML I can work with any format and do any of the necessary scrubbing/ETL leg work.