Revit API

Reply
Contributor
jkunkel
Posts: 20
Registered: ‎08-03-2005
Message 1 of 3 (249 Views)
Accepted Solution

Get Command ID from Journal

249 Views, 2 Replies
10-12-2012 12:57 PM

I give up.  I've spent a good amount of time on Google and maybe it's just because it's Friday afternoon, but I cannot find my answer.

 

I am trying to play with 2013's ability to replace built-in commands.  I see that I can look through the journal file to get commands.  I also found a nice Excel sheet that listed a lot of the command IDs already.  The Command ID I am looking for does not seem to be in the Excel file, and looking through the Journal file gives me no help in figuring out what the command ID is.

 

I am specifically flooking for the Add a Leader under Symbol command, but would love to know how to determine it myself.

I investigated a bit into this and found the following entry in the Journal file for the Add A Symbol button click:

 

 Jrn.PushButton "ToolBar , {}{} , Dialog_Family_FaminstLeaderDlgbar" _
          , "Add a Leader, Control_Family_FaminstAddleader"

 

From what it seems, many Revit actions are not performed using commands - actions can be taken directly in controls which seems to be happening here. So it seems we cannot get/use the CommandId to replace this functionality.

 

If you need a workaround, I am thinking if you can use the IUpdater mechanism to track for newly added symbol and take some steps as appropriate.

 

cheers

 

Employee
saikat
Posts: 185
Registered: ‎08-16-2007
Message 2 of 3 (245 Views)

Re: Get Command ID from Journal

10-12-2012 02:36 PM in reply to: jkunkel

I investigated a bit into this and found the following entry in the Journal file for the Add A Symbol button click:

 

 Jrn.PushButton "ToolBar , {}{} , Dialog_Family_FaminstLeaderDlgbar" _
          , "Add a Leader, Control_Family_FaminstAddleader"

 

From what it seems, many Revit actions are not performed using commands - actions can be taken directly in controls which seems to be happening here. So it seems we cannot get/use the CommandId to replace this functionality.

 

If you need a workaround, I am thinking if you can use the IUpdater mechanism to track for newly added symbol and take some steps as appropriate.

 

cheers

 



Saikat Bhattacharya

Contributor
jkunkel
Posts: 20
Registered: ‎08-03-2005
Message 3 of 3 (232 Views)

Re: Get Command ID from Journal

10-15-2012 06:40 AM in reply to: saikat

I had found that line in the Journal as well, I just assumed that I didn't know how to translate it.  Sadly, not the case!

I will do some reading into the IUpdater.  Haven't used that yet.  Thanks!

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are You Going To Be @ AU 2014? Feel free to drop by our AU topic post and share your plans, plug a class that you're teaching, or simply check out who else from the community might be in attendance. Ohh and don't forgot to stop by the Autodesk Help | Learn | Collaborate booths in the Exhibit Hall and meet our community team if you get a chance!