Revit API Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Revit API Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Revit API topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Creating a TextNote with the 2016 API changes.

18 REPLIES 18
SOLVED
Message 1 of 19
JackTilley
7774 Views, 18 Replies

Creating a TextNote with the 2016 API changes.

Hi, 

I am a newbie with the Revit API and I want to create a textnote on a sheet. I have seen sample codes using the old methods but. TextNote.Create() has just been introduced and seeing a sample code using this method will help me understand it and allow me implement my version. 

Thank you,

Jack

18 REPLIES 18
Message 2 of 19
arnostlobel
in reply to: JackTilley

Hello Jack,

there are four new Create methods added in the R2016 API for Text notes. I believe all of them are rather simple and straightforward to use. I'll show two code snippets here, but I am positive you will have no problems to adjust it to your concrete needs:

This one snippet creates a text note which has an adjustable width (width that grows with the text contained withing). Typically, this creation method is used for creating one-line annotations. In this particular snippet I use the currently default TextNoteType, but you can use any other available text-note-type if you wish so.

using (Transaction tran = new Transaction(RevitDoc, "Creating a Text note"))
{
   XYZ origin = new XYZ(10, 10, 0);
   ElementId defaultTypeId = RevitDoc.GetDefaultElementTypeId(ElementTypeGroup.TextNoteType);

tran.Start();
   TextNote note = TextNote.Create(RevitDoc, someView.Id, origin,  "Text Note", defaultTypeId);
   tran.Commit();
}