Revit API Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Revit API Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Revit API topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

API Newbie - Family 'Signature' functionality

1 REPLY 1
Message 1 of 2
aesdaile.w
298 Views, 1 Reply

API Newbie - Family 'Signature' functionality

Hi all,

I'm a very green beginner working my way through the Introduction to the Revit API. I have a little bit of programming experience (dangerous! - Does Commodore 64 BASIC count?) so I have some ideas about how I might go about what I want to acheive.

Firstly - are there any API plugins out there that do what I want to do? (I haven't seen any, so I'm asking here)

Goal:

1. A 'signature' field within a family / family:type that shows the family is 'official'.
  2. This field should be something like a concatenation of the %username% from Windows and the current Date.
  3. The field should ONLY be updated by an API command - ie, something you click on the Ribbon.
  4. This API command is  only visible for certain users (me in this case!) - easy to do, don't install the plugin on workstations that dont need it
  5. The field should be invisible to un-blessed users
  6. The field should be active for a view filter - so you can create a view with 'un-blessed' (unsigned) families shaded in colour to highlight them
  7. The field should be BLANK if a user edits any family in any way - even a previously 'blessed' family

We're not trying to track who is creating crap families (we know who they are, anyway) we are just trying to sift the wheat from the chaff.

I can think of ways to do items 1-4 that are not much beyond what you can do 'by hand' with a Shared Parameter.

Point 5 makes me think the Data Storage Object might be the way to go...

Point 6 - this would likely have to be a purely API thing - check for DSO from point 5, apply shade-by-element in a new view.