Revit API Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Revit API Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Revit API topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Add KeynoteTag in DraftinvView to a Line Based Detail Component

7 REPLIES 7
Message 1 of 8
atiefenbach
607 Views, 7 Replies

Add KeynoteTag in DraftinvView to a Line Based Detail Component

How can I use the API to create a new KeynoteTag hosted to a Line Based Detail Component in a DraftingView?

Now, keep in mind that I'm new to Revit API and C#, so my questions will be pretty basic.  My past experience is with Visual Basic. but I'm looking to improve my skills in C# and a better understanding of C#.  My best learning method is to see sample codes.  Thanks for all your help!!

Here's my current code to add the IndependentTag to the Element:

Element FindLine(Document doc)
{
FilteredElementCollector collector
= new FilteredElementCollector(doc, doc.ActiveView.Id);

foreach (Element e in collector)
{
if( e.Name.Equals("Line"))
{
return e;
}
}
return null;
}

Element elemLine = FindLine(doc);

LocationCurve elc = elemLine.Location as LocationCurve;
Line elLine = elc.Curve as Line;
XYZ p = elLine.get_EndPoint(0);

FamilySymbol KeynoteTagType = GetFirstFamilySymbol(doc, BuiltInCategory.OST_KeynoteTags);
IndependentTag newTag = createDoc.NewTag(view, elemLine, false, TagMode.TM_ADDBY_CATEGORY, TagOrientation.Horizontal, p);

I'm know this code would just tag the detail line, and I'm pretty sure the issue is the XYZ.

Anthony Tiefenbach
BIM Manager
HuntonBrady Architects
7 REPLIES 7
Message 2 of 8
Joe.Ye
in reply to: atiefenbach

What's the problem then?

Probably forgot to use the transaction, so it failed to create the tag.

If this cannot help, Please give detailed information abou the problem. 

Joe Ye
Contractor
Developer Technical Services
Autodesk Developer Network
Message 3 of 8
atiefenbach