Revit API Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Revit API Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Revit API topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Accessing an External Command when a form's button is triggered

4 REPLIES 4
SOLVED
Message 1 of 5
modjibe
1283 Views, 4 Replies

Accessing an External Command when a form's button is triggered

Hi !

I'm new to the Revit API and pretty excited of the possibilities. But heh, I do have some problems ! 

I have an External Command say A which opens a .Net form say B.

This form does some calculations and I would like to paste the result in an object's property of Revit, like a wall. To do that, a transaction must be open, I get that. So everything must be done from the Execute method of the External Command.

I can manage to catch the events of the form from the external command. But the methods of the form don't have access to the revit API.

I could export the result of the form as a property in the external command but the Execute method should "pause" and wait that the calculations in the form are done (said otherwise that the user has pushed the button).

I hope I am clear enough... Have you guys any ideas ?

I just want to paste a data of a .Net form (called from an external command) into a Revit's object. I saw on blogs and forums that many people try to do that but no solutions. 

Thx !

JB

4 REPLIES 4
Message 2 of 5
modjibe
in reply to: modjibe

I managed to do it but i think it is not a regular method... Here is the code (sorry not very clean cause i'm testing things...)

public class fonction1 : IExternalCommand
{
     public Result Execute(ExternalCommandData commandData, ref string message, ElementSet elements)
    {
        //Appel du formulaire 1
        ClassLibrary1.Form1 frm = new ClassLibrary1.Form1();
        frm.Show();
        UIApplication uiApp = commandData.Application;
        Document doc = uiApp.ActiveUIDocument.Document;