Remote General Discussion

Remote General Discussion

Reply
Contributor
Slawomir.Drazkiewicz
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎01-24-2012
Message 1 of 9 (847 Views)

Sharing could not be turned on.

847 Views, 8 Replies
09-19-2013 02:49 AM

Hi,

 

I have finally installed Autodesk Remote on my computer (I had to turn off my AntyVirus program to finish installation). I logged in to my A360 account and I try to share my desktop. I always get this information.

 

 

Przechwytywanie.PNG

 

I tried over 30 times, and twice I turned on sharing succesfully. But when I tried to connect from iPad connection was lost. Now, trying on 3 different networks (2 corporation networks and 1 hot spot) I can't turn on sharing my dekstop, or it works very rare.

 

Support please.

 

Regards,

Sławek

New Member
dorindarose9003
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎08-04-2010
Message 2 of 9 (807 Views)

Re: Sharing could not be turned on.

09-26-2013 08:43 AM in reply to: Slawomir.Drazkiewicz

I get the same thing...any help would be appreciated.

 

Thanks!

Product Support
asburyj
Posts: 543
Registered: ‎08-26-2008
Message 3 of 9 (800 Views)

Re: Sharing could not be turned on.

09-26-2013 11:23 AM in reply to: dorindarose9003

Hi Salwik,

 

The most common cause for this kind of error is that the service is unable to connect due to a firewall or other network restriction The following ports must not be explicitly blocked on either the local machine or any intervening firewall between the local machine and the internet (for both host and client machines):

 

  • 8090 - 8300 UDP Used for client to host communications,
  • 7182 UDP
  • 8080 - 8090 TCP (outgoing) 
  • 80, 443 TCP (outgoing) Used for HTTP and HTTPS communications
    Ensure the following domains are not blocked for HTTPS:
    *.otoy.com
    *.webcl.com
    *.otoyserver.com

 



Jeffry Asbury
Contributor
Slawomir.Drazkiewicz
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎01-24-2012
Message 4 of 9 (775 Views)

Re: Sharing could not be turned on.

09-30-2013 04:58 AM in reply to: Slawomir.Drazkiewicz

I scan my ports and here are the logs:

Open ports for:

*.otoy.com (21, 80, 443):

http://wklej.org/id/1139943/

*.webcl.com (21, 80, 443):

http://wklej.org/id/1139981/
*.otoyserver.com (Failed to resolve):

http://wklej.org/id/1139985/

 

Regards,

Slawek

 

 

 

Product Support
jon.dean
Posts: 193
Registered: ‎06-02-2010
Message 5 of 9 (766 Views)

Re: Sharing could not be turned on.

09-30-2013 06:55 AM in reply to: Slawomir.Drazkiewicz

Did you open all the Ports mentioned by Jeff?

 

Jon



Jon Dean

Contributor
Slawomir.Drazkiewicz
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎01-24-2012
Message 6 of 9 (709 Views)

Re: Sharing could not be turned on.

10-07-2013 01:43 AM in reply to: jon.dean

Hi,

 

I turned off my firewall, so all my ports were open. I also turned off my AntiVir, and then I've tried to run Autodesk Remote. It still doesn't work. Please see the screen. I can't do nothing more.

 

Offtopic: In next month, I'm going to present this tool to all polish VARs. It will be nice if it will be working fine. I also talked with polish Autodesk application engineers and it doesn't work on their computers too...

Active Member
derek.gasch
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎06-07-2013
Message 7 of 9 (448 Views)

Re: Sharing could not be turned on.

11-27-2013 08:09 AM in reply to: Slawomir.Drazkiewicz

Have you found any resolution to this error?  I'm having the same issue.

Contributor
Slawomir.Drazkiewicz
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎01-24-2012
Message 8 of 9 (437 Views)

Re: Sharing could not be turned on.

11-28-2013 12:18 AM in reply to: Slawomir.Drazkiewicz

Unfortunately - no. There was no support from Autodesk, so I uninstall this tool and forget about it.

Product Support
asburyj
Posts: 543
Registered: ‎08-26-2008
Message 9 of 9 (407 Views)

Re: Sharing could not be turned on.

12-02-2013 08:33 AM in reply to: Slawomir.Drazkiewicz

If the ports and domains mentioned earlier are open as far as you can tell there may be a antivirus of security software blocking remote. I recently encountered a case where Autodesk Remote would not connect until the Trend Micro Antivirus software was disabled on a client. 



Jeffry Asbury
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

New Remote Category!

The Remote forum has moved into it's very own category page, and can no longer be found within the Additional Product Forums.