Community
ReCap Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s ReCap Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular ReCap topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Trouble importing fls files

3 REPLIES 3
Message 1 of 4
crhalton
318 Views, 3 Replies

Trouble importing fls files

Hi,

I am new to ReCap Pro, and I'm wondering how long it should take for a scan to import. I am trying to import fls files from a Trimble TX-5. First I tried importing the entire project (~10 scans), and now I tried only the first two. It has been saying "Please wait for the selected scan to import" for over 30 minutes. I have 8GB of RAM, a workstation 3D graphics card, and over 2 TB of storage space free, so I don't think my hardware is an issue.

I am using the free 30 day trial of ReCap Pro. I attempted to download the full version here (I am a student): http://www.autodesk.com/education/free-software/students-university/all-products but I get an error (page 404 not found) when I attempt to download and install.

ReCap Pro would be incredibly helpful to my research if I can get it to work! Thanks in advance.

Casey

3 REPLIES 3
Message 2 of 4
MarcZinck
in reply to: crhalton

Hi Casey,

Could you provide some more details about the scans (number of points, color/no color, file size, etc...)? Did you notice if the CPU is active while the scan is importing? Some large fls scans can take a long time to import, especially if they have color data, however 30 minutes sounds like an excessive amount of time.

Marc

Message 3 of 4
MarcZinck
in reply to: crhalton

We are currently experiencing technical issues with ReCap Pro educational downloads. Our web team is aware of the issue and working on a fix.

Marc

Message 4 of 4
crhalton
in reply to: MarcZinck

Hi Marc,