QuickCAD

Reply
Contributor
HarryLang
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎12-11-2003
Message 1 of 7 (136 Views)

QuickCAD Copy Mirror Command Does Not Work

136 Views, 6 Replies
12-10-2003 10:43 AM
I want to retain the original object when using the Mirror the Copy & Mirror command. According to Help, if you hold down the CTRL key while mirroring it will keep the original object. 'It does not'

According to tech buliten 'Retain Original objec when Mirriring ID: TS73887" Select the Copy or Move option, which appears in the toolbar area when you begin using the Mirror tool. Only this does still not work.

How do I get this to work... Please any one your help or commend appreciated.
*Hulbert, Rod
Message 2 of 7 (136 Views)

Re: QuickCAD Copy Mirror Command Does Not Work

12-10-2003 07:06 PM in reply to: HarryLang
The help menu for Mirror talks about 2 ways to mirror objects.
In addition to the Mirror command, you can select an object, grab
a "handle" and drag it across itself until it mirrors. The help
menu doesn't make clear that holding down the control key will
copy the object only for the drag method. If the status menu is
on, it will tell you when the control or shift key should be an
option. Unfortunately the drag mirror method also stretches the
object, and it is nearly impossible to set the final mirrored
size to equal the original object, which makes this method all
but worthless. In ten years, I have never used it on a real
drawing.

The tech bulletin isn't much clearer, to see the check box that
indicates copy for the Mirror command, the Edit menu must be on.
Note that this check box is also for all six transform commands
Translate, Scale, Rotate, Align, Mirror and Stretch. Since I
nearly always want to copy with the mirror command, and almost
never want to copy with the others, this is a real PITA.
Control-Z is your friend.

Rod

"HarryLang" wrote in message
news:f1a5a8b.-1@WebX.maYIadrTaRb...
| I want to retain the original object when using the Mirror the
Copy & Mirror command. According to Help, if you hold down the
CTRL key while mirroring it will keep the original object. 'It
does not'
| According to tech buliten 'Retain Original objec when Mirriring
ID: TS73887" Select the Copy or Move option, which appears in the
toolbar area when you begin using the Mirror tool. Only this does
still not work.
|
| How do I get this to work... Please any one your help or
commend appreciated.
|
|
Contributor
HarryLang
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎12-11-2003
Message 3 of 7 (136 Views)

Re:

12-11-2003 05:03 AM in reply to: HarryLang
I still do not get it! (Please note I appreciate your help with this matter) Only, I still can not do a Copy and Mirror of a part without loosing the original entity.

I want to copy one item and mirror it so that I now have the same item only one which was the original and one which is the new mirrored object.

And I want the two objects to be identical in shape and size as the original 'mirrored' object.

How can I do this 'directions' for a simple simon who has a person who has not been able to figure this out for past year or so...! Where do I go and what do I do to achieve this PLEASE. Your help is greatly appreciated.
Contributor
AppleJack
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎12-12-2003
Message 4 of 7 (136 Views)

Re:

12-11-2003 07:56 AM in reply to: HarryLang
Make sure your edit toolbar in on. Go to the VIEW file menu. Then to toolbars, check the edit box.

Before you mirror copy an object, have the rotation point in mind. If you cannot reference the center of a line or object, then make a temporary line. Think turning the pages of a book. If you want to mirror and copy a page on the right to the left. You need to have a vertical line in the middle and rotate on that.
Click on the object you want to mirror, then the edit bar should pop up. Be sure to check the box that says copy. After that, follow the directions on the status bar, (on my screen, its at the very bottom).
I recommend to everyone new to a cad program, to practice the offset, copy, and mirror commands, alot. They will save you from drawing the same thing over and over.
Contributor
HarryLang
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎12-11-2003
Message 5 of 7 (136 Views)

Re:

12-11-2003 11:24 AM in reply to: HarryLang
The Edit toolbar has always been on or checked.
When I click on the object to mirror the edit bar pop's up. Only no box shows up that says 'Copy'.

The only box's that show up are:
Coordinate System Grid
Inquire Selection
Clear Selection
Edit Entities
Group along with showing - 4 entities selected.

I do not see the a box which says 'Copy' or any directions on the status bar to follow!

I still can not see how to do as you have directed?
Again Thank you for your help with this matter. I feel like an idiot regarding this problem.
Contributor
HarryLang
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎12-11-2003
Message 6 of 7 (136 Views)

Re:

12-11-2003 01:32 PM in reply to: HarryLang
I finally figured it out. When I click on the object to mirror. I then select Edit, Transform, Mirror and then the Copy box appears in my toolbars where I placed a check in the box to Copy. Once the check is placed in the box it will from now on copy and mirror properly. 'It works' and I can now finally work faster. I appreciate everyone's help regarding this matter. I have migrated from Auto-CAD to Easy Cad and Fast Cad and now started using this program about a two years ago. It has taken some getting use to!
*Norris, Ric
Message 7 of 7 (136 Views)

Re:

12-11-2003 02:04 PM in reply to: HarryLang
Migrated from AutoCAD huh.....you should seriously
consider migrating to LT2004



style="PADDING-RIGHT: 0px; PADDING-LEFT: 5px; MARGIN-LEFT: 5px; BORDER-LEFT: #000000 2px solid; MARGIN-RIGHT: 0px">
I
finally figured it out. When I click on the object to mirror. I then select
Edit, Transform, Mirror and then the Copy box appears in my toolbars where I
placed a check in the box to Copy. Once the check is placed in the box it will
from now on copy and mirror properly. 'It works' and I can now finally work
faster. I appreciate everyone's help regarding this matter. I have migrated
from Auto-CAD to Easy Cad and Fast Cad and now started using this program
about a two years ago. It has taken some getting use
to!
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are You Going To Be @ AU 2014? Feel free to drop by our AU topic post and share your plans, plug a class that you're teaching, or simply check out who else from the community might be in attendance. Ohh and don't forgot to stop by the Autodesk Help | Learn | Collaborate booths in the Exhibit Hall and meet our community team if you get a chance!