QuickCAD

Reply
Active Member
John999
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎06-19-2009
Message 1 of 5 (1,967 Views)

Parallel rectangles with equal offset

1967 Views, 4 Replies
06-25-2009 08:24 AM
Hi,

I am new to CAD so please forgive me if I ask a simple question. I have drawn a two rectangular polygons in parallel with space between them is 1" inch. Now, I want to add 144 more rectangle in parallel with 1" inch distance among them. Is there any option that will allow me to accurately place 144 rectangle polygons with the pitch of 1" amng them accurately.

Thanks

John
Active Member
John999
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎06-19-2009
Message 2 of 5 (1,967 Views)

Re: Parallel rectangles with equal offset

06-25-2009 08:32 AM in reply to: John999
One more thing I selected like 10 rectangle polygons and copied them then I want to place them about an 1 inch distance from a sqaure. Can somebody advise me how to do it. I can not find anything that can take precise coordinates and place the selected group of rectangles.
thanks
John
*Rod Hulbert
Message 3 of 5 (1,967 Views)

Re: Parallel rectangles with equal offset

07-04-2009 11:19 PM in reply to: John999
John

The command you want is the EDIT
in the help index.

As you can probably tell, no one checks here much any more. This is because
Version 8 was the last update of Quick Cad. Quick Cad is a subset of
AutoSketch with identical commands so asking your question in the autosketch
group will will get your question answered much quicker.

Rod

wrote in message news:6208366@discussion.autodesk.com...
Hi,

I am new to CAD so please forgive me if I ask a simple question. I have
drawn a two rectangular polygons in parallel with space between them is 1"
inch. Now, I want to add 144 more rectangle in parallel with 1" inch
distance among them. Is there any option that will allow me to accurately
place 144 rectangle polygons with the pitch of 1" amng them accurately.

Thanks

John
*Rod Hulbert
Message 4 of 5 (1,967 Views)

Re: Parallel rectangles with equal offset

07-04-2009 11:46 PM in reply to: John999
Method 1: place the objects some place where you can easily select them
again. After selecting the objects, select Edit to a spot (a corner for example ) for the from spot (the status bar at the
bottom of the window will tell you what next), Type W to reset the working
point and snap to the square, type R to bring up the Relative dialog box,
enter the x and y distance, click on Enter.

Method 2: Don't copy the objects yet. Select Draw>Duplicate>Parallel, type
1 in the edit bar, type enter, hold down the control key and click on the
edge of the square you want the offset on. Select the objects to be copied.
Right cllick on the about point, select Move About Point and snap to lower
left corner? of objects. Left click on the About Point and drag to offset
line while holding down the control key. When it snaps in place release the
mouse button before releasing the contol key. Optional, delete the line.

There are several other variations on these themes.

Rod

wrote in message news:6208372@discussion.autodesk.com...
One more thing I selected like 10 rectangle polygons and copied them then I
want to place them about an 1 inch distance from a sqaure. Can somebody
advise me how to do it. I can not find anything that can take precise
coordinates and place the selected group of rectangles.
thanks
John
Active Member
John999
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎06-19-2009
Message 5 of 5 (1,967 Views)

Re: Parallel rectangles with equal offset

07-13-2009 11:26 AM in reply to: John999
Hi,

Two more things. I go this drawing made in autocad in mm ( 1:1) and I want to view and change the drawing in millimeters with 1mm = 1mm scaling factor.

I open the drawing in Quick CAD 8 and in the beginning the QuickCAD asks me for what units do I want to open it with default option of inches.

I change the option to millimeters. Then the drawing opens up on the editing (white) area. Everything looks cool until I checked the drawing options in th tools menu. The units are still in inches. I chnaged the unit lenght in millimeters and the went to scale tab , and the scale tab is showing me the 1" = 15067 ". So, I changed the scaling option to 1mm = 1mm. And then tried to view the drawing but the drawing is off the white editing page. Can anyone advice what is really going on?

The second thing is that how can I edit or make changes to the text. I have also attached the file with the message. May be I am not converting the file into millimeters properly. Can some change the file into millimeters for me with the scale of 1mm = 1mm, so that I make changes to the drawing in millimeters. Thanks

Please advise!

Regards,
John
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.