QuickCAD

Reply
*Wehmann, Alan
Message 1 of 9 (29 Views)

Masking individual items`

29 Views, 8 Replies
04-01-2000 04:17 PM
I have QC7 on a Windows NT4 machine. Several computers ago I had
drafix CAD on an Atari 520 ST. Cleaning the garage I found an old
manual, dated 1987, from Foresight Resources Corp. That verified my
memory that there used to be a set of mask features. Back then one
could mask individual items, as well as layers. With QC7, so far I've
only been able to hide (i.e. mask) layers. Have I overlooked
something that would allow me to hide individual items? Such a
feature used to exist; both memory and the old manual say so.

I used "drafix" back then on an IBM PC as well, so masking individual
items wasn't unique to the Atari platform.
--
Alan Wehmann
wehmann@fnal.gov
*Smith, Harvey
Message 2 of 9 (29 Views)

Re: Masking individual items`

04-02-2000 06:39 AM in reply to: *Wehmann, Alan
Alan,

I think the only way to hide individual elements is to place them on a layer and
Mask the layer. You can't access this layer in the drawing until you change the
layer's property to Editable. A pain.

'Twould be nice to have that feature.

H

Alan Wehmann wrote:
>
> I have QC7 on a Windows NT4 machine. Several computers ago I had
> drafix CAD on an Atari 520 ST. Cleaning the garage I found an old
> manual, dated 1987, from Foresight Resources Corp. That verified my
> memory that there used to be a set of mask features. Back then one
> could mask individual items, as well as layers. With QC7, so far I've
> only been able to hide (i.e. mask) layers. Have I overlooked
> something that would allow me to hide individual items? Such a
> feature used to exist; both memory and the old manual say so.
>
> I used "drafix" back then on an IBM PC as well, so masking individual
> items wasn't unique to the Atari platform.
> --
> Alan Wehmann
> wehmann@fnal.gov
Active Contributor
john
Posts: 47
Registered: ‎07-28-2003
Message 3 of 9 (29 Views)

Re: Masking individual items`

04-07-2000 08:59 PM in reply to: *Wehmann, Alan
You were using Drafix Cad Ultra back then, Alan. That feature went out with Drafix Cad for windows.
I missed the feature too. It seems the more things advance, the more good features they remove. Same
with QC and AS. I had to upgrade from Drafix Cad for Windows unwillingly, but found that these two Auto desk
programs were based on Drafix. Thought they would be real good. Well, not too bad, but lost a lot of good
stuff from Drafix.
As Harvey Smith says, you have to place things on differant layers if you want to mask them individually. Yes,
compared to Ultra, it is a pain. By the way. Quickcad has now gone the way of Drafix. Can't get it from
Autodesk nomore. Is Auto Sketch next? Guess they want us all to migrate to the real pain, Autocad LT. Ugh!
*Wehmann, Alan
Message 4 of 9 (29 Views)

Re:

04-14-2000 08:44 AM in reply to: *Wehmann, Alan
I see Quick CAD Millenium 7 still listed at the Autodesk Web site.
How do you know it has gone away?

John writes:

> You were using Drafix Cad Ultra back then, Alan. That feature went
> out with Drafix Cad for windows. I missed the feature too. It seems
> the more things advance, the more good features they remove. Same
> with QC and AS. I had to upgrade from Drafix Cad for Windows
> unwillingly, but found that these two Auto desk programs were based
> on Drafix. Thought they would be real good. Well, not too bad, but
> lost a lot of good stuff from Drafix. As Harvey Smith says, you
> have to place things on differant layers if you want to mask them
> individually. Yes, compared to Ultra, it is a pain. By the
> way. Quickcad has now gone the way of Drafix. Can't get it from
> Autodesk nomore. Is Auto Sketch next? Guess they want us all to
> migrate to the real pain, Autocad LT. Ugh!

--
Alan Wehmann
wehmann@fnal.gov
*Smith, Harvey
Message 5 of 9 (29 Views)

Re:

04-14-2000 09:05 AM in reply to: *Wehmann, Alan
I just saw it at CompUSA. I suspect they still sell it. John may have mistyped,
or he knows something.

H

Alan Wehmann wrote:
>
> I see Quick CAD Millenium 7 still listed at the Autodesk Web site.
> How do you know it has gone away?
>
> John writes:
>
> > You were using Drafix Cad Ultra back then, Alan. That feature went
> > out with Drafix Cad for windows. I missed the feature too. It seems
> > the more things advance, the more good features they remove. Same
> > with QC and AS. I had to upgrade from Drafix Cad for Windows
> > unwillingly, but found that these two Auto desk programs were based
> > on Drafix. Thought they would be real good. Well, not too bad, but
> > lost a lot of good stuff from Drafix. As Harvey Smith says, you
> > have to place things on differant layers if you want to mask them
> > individually. Yes, compared to Ultra, it is a pain. By the
> > way. Quickcad has now gone the way of Drafix. Can't get it from
> > Autodesk nomore. Is Auto Sketch next? Guess they want us all to
> > migrate to the real pain, Autocad LT. Ugh!
>
> --
> Alan Wehmann
> wehmann@fnal.gov
Active Contributor
john
Posts: 47
Registered: ‎07-28-2003
Message 6 of 9 (29 Views)

Re:

04-14-2000 09:19 PM in reply to: *Wehmann, Alan
Hello again Alan, Go to products and check out Quick Cad there. They tell you that it is no longer available.
"John" Ralph J. Maugeri.
Active Contributor
john
Posts: 47
Registered: ‎07-28-2003
Message 7 of 9 (29 Views)

Re:

04-14-2000 09:31 PM in reply to: *Wehmann, Alan
It looks like I have to amend my statement. They may still offer it.
When the discussion thing went haywire there was a statement that it was no longer being offered. I followed
the product line for QC after I posted the last message, and it looks like it is still available. Harvey
may be close, but it wasn't a typo, it might have been something more serious, like brain failure? I will have
to check it further for my own satisfaction. I'd hate to think I was losing it already.
"John"
*Smith, Harvey
Message 8 of 9 (29 Views)

Re:

04-15-2000 06:38 AM in reply to: *Wehmann, Alan
> it might have been something more serious, like brain failure? I will have
> to check it further for my own satisfaction. I'd hate to think I was losing it already.

Not you TOO! Soon they'll be NO ONE left.

Just Ric and Paul. Oi!
*Wehmann, Alan
Message 9 of 9 (29 Views)

Re:

04-17-2000 08:37 AM in reply to: *Wehmann, Alan
I did see that the Autodesk online store says that it is unavailable
as a downloadable product. I didn't see any other indication that it
isn't available.

John writes:

> Hello again Alan, Go to products and check out Quick Cad there. They
> tell you that it is no longer available. "John" Ralph J. Maugeri.

--
Alan Wehmann
wehmann@fnal.gov
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.