QuickCAD

Reply
Member
cmb042
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎01-18-2008
Message 1 of 4 (279 Views)

hatch

279 Views, 3 Replies
01-18-2008 11:51 AM
I am a new user who just started a job a few months ago. Part of my duties is making corrections to CAD mechanical drawings. Before this job I have never used CAD before. My biggest problem so far is hatching.

Lets say I want to lengthen a certain part. I can stretch the part, but that leaves a noticeable unhatched portion. If I use fill>hatch I draws maybe one hatch line, instead of filling the part with several lines. The current hatching seems to be it's own group, cutout to fit it's corresponding part perfectly. I can't stretch it without putting this alignment out of whack. Also most of the files I edit are DWG files.

So far the only method I have to hatching is to draw a large rectangle, hatch it. Then explode, regroup, scale the rectangle down, put my part into it, trim, then move it back to the drawing. There has to be an easier way right?
*Rod Hulbert
Message 2 of 4 (279 Views)

Re: hatch

01-19-2008 11:06 AM in reply to: cmb042
First of all I am assuming that you are using quick cad since you posted in
the quick cad forum. This applies to versions 7 and 8 as I haven't used
previous versions. Also QC is defunct and you will get more and quicker
help in the Auto Sketch forum (Auto Sketch in nearly identical to QC )

To solve the single line hatch go to the Menu Tools>Graphic Options>Current
Set the Hatch Spacing and/or the Hatch Scale Factor. You can also change
the entity Hatch scale factor by right click> Entities... > Poly .

Note that there are 2 different hatch/fills. With the original fill you
select a polygon and click a drop down on the Property Toolbar. This method
makes the fill part of the polygon, edit the polygon and the fill flows with
it. It has two short comings, it won't fill circles unless you convert them
to polygons and if the polygon has cutouts it fills over them. If you want
to un-hatch cutouts you have to use Trim Difference.

The newer method you drag a fill from the content library or select a fill
option from the All-In-One tool bar and drop it where you want a fill. Is
advantages are that it will fill a circle without modifying it and it will
flow around cutouts. Its disadvantage is that it draws a separate polygon
(with hidden boarders) on top of the polygon you are filling and the fill is
applied to that. Its a disadvantage because if you move or edit your entity
you have to change the fill separately (or delete and refill it).

Importing and exporting dwg files makes a difference too. I don't know what
the conversions do to fills but probably doesn't help.

Rod

wrote in message news:5824755@discussion.autodesk.com...
I am a new user who just started a job a few months ago. Part of my duties
is making corrections to CAD mechanical drawings. Before this job I have
never used CAD before. My biggest problem so far is hatching.

Lets say I want to lengthen a certain part. I can stretch the part, but
that leaves a noticeable unhatched portion. If I use fill>hatch I draws
maybe one hatch line, instead of filling the part with several lines. The
current hatching seems to be it's own group, cutout to fit it's
corresponding part perfectly. I can't stretch it without putting this
alignment out of whack. Also most of the files I edit are DWG files.

So far the only method I have to hatching is to draw a large rectangle,
hatch it. Then explode, regroup, scale the rectangle down, put my part into
it, trim, then move it back to the drawing. There has to be an easier way
right?
Member
cmb042
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎01-18-2008
Message 3 of 4 (279 Views)

Re: hatch

01-21-2008 06:14 AM in reply to: cmb042
Thank you very much.

I am using QCAD 8. Thanks for the advice on forum I knew it was defunct but hoped for the best. I had found the hatch scale before but when I changed it the hatching in the entire drawing changed. Following your directions it works perfectly. Thank you.
Member
cmb042
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎01-18-2008
Message 4 of 4 (279 Views)

Re: hatch

01-21-2008 07:23 AM in reply to: cmb042
I was a little hasty with the word "perfect"

Using the fill hatch from the all in one toolbar, I often run into the problem of the entire drawing being filled. I check the corners of my polygon to make sure the lines are connected. Also sometimes clicking the fill hatch on a certain portion of the shape to be filled avoids the problem. Where when I click on another portion of the same part it fills the whole drawing.

Also I can't trim the hatch at all. The trim tool doesn't seem to recognize the hatch as a line intersecting anything. The hatch fills over shapes inside the larger polygon that shouldn't be hatched.
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.