Quantity Takeoff

Reply
Active Contributor
NateKennis3933
Posts: 32
Registered: ‎02-17-2011
Message 1 of 3 (393 Views)

sorting ductwork

393 Views, 2 Replies
02-01-2012 11:57 AM

i am trying to sort my ductwork so i can send it off to the fab shop to be made.  i am new to QTO.  i have tried to tag my ductwork in the model but it does not transfer over.  i am now putting it all in by hand.  the reports in QTO is better than making a schedule in autocad mep.

 

thank you in advance for any help

Alumni
john.lipp
Posts: 359
Registered: ‎08-28-2009
Message 2 of 3 (387 Views)

Re: sorting ductwork

02-03-2012 10:15 AM in reply to: NateKennis3933

Hi NateKennis3933


Reports created in QTO are sorted according to WBS ID.  From the sound of it, you wish to sort by the description column? 

It isn’t possible to sort reports other than by WBS, and I suggest sending an enhancement request through the feedback portal:
- http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet/index?siteID=123112&id=1109794

You can export your report to another format such as a Microsoft Excel XLS, bring the report into that application and try sorting from there.

For legends on sheets, if you wish to only show the description values, you can select the legend on the sheet, and modify the label style to show "Item Description" and the legend will be sorted by the description rather than WBS ID.

In the takeoff palette itself, you are able to click the column headers, and the takeoff palette will sort the takeoff according to that column.

Also worth mentioning as you are using AutoCAD is the "AEC Group Individual Objects By" Publish option when publishing to a DWF from AutoCAD MEP.  You can either group by "item type and style" or by "layer".  When you run model takeoff on a 3D DWF, the grouping of model takeoff found will be by whatever you have set this publish option to.

Please let me know if this answers your question.


Best regards,



John Lipp
Support Specialist
Product Support
Autodesk, Inc.

Active Contributor
NateKennis3933
Posts: 32
Registered: ‎02-17-2011
Message 3 of 3 (383 Views)

Re: sorting ductwork

02-03-2012 02:17 PM in reply to: NateKennis3933

yes that answered my question and them some.  i have been holding the ctrl button and picking the duct and then in the takeoff pallette cutting and pasting in the right zone which is working pretty slick also.  i really like this software just not a lot of help in it.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.