Quantity Takeoff

Quantity Takeoff

Reply
Member
KRoller
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎03-21-2013
Message 1 of 6 (775 Views)

Saving Changes to Condition Quanities

775 Views, 5 Replies
03-21-2013 07:29 AM

I am having an issue with saving takeoff items which are moved from their original condition.

 

Example: I take off a floor area as carpet then I move the quanity to a different condition (VCT). After saving, closing the file, and reopening the measure that was moved to VCT is reverted back to it's original designation of carpet.

 

Is this a glich in the program or do I not have a setting enabled which allows takeoff to be reassigned.

New Member
Ivan_B
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎10-08-2012
Message 2 of 6 (759 Views)

Re: Saving Changes to Condition Quanities

03-21-2013 02:25 PM in reply to: KRoller

They way to do it is to LINK the model take off item into a Catalog item.

 

You right click the mouse on the Model take off and Select Assign to Item. The Select to Item window opens and you select the ITEM  inside a Group. 

 

So, once it is LINKED, the conditions quantity will be saved.

 

The tricky part is this: WOULD QTO Allowed you to LINK it.... I found it frustrating, because sometimes it does sometimes it doesn't.

 

I run into AUTODESK people at the World of Concrete the last February using version 2014 and THEY have stated that the LINK is a big problem in version 2013.

 

Ivan

Contributor
lheifner
Posts: 20
Registered: ‎02-12-2013
Message 3 of 6 (752 Views)

Re: Saving Changes to Condition Quanities

03-22-2013 04:49 AM in reply to: KRoller

If you are using QTO 2013, you need to install the hotfix.  

 

Lew

Member
KRoller
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎03-21-2013
Message 4 of 6 (746 Views)

Re: Saving Changes to Condition Quanities

03-22-2013 11:16 AM in reply to: lheifner

I searched online and could only find a hotfix for 2012. Do you have a link to where I can downlaod the Hotfix for 2013?

Contributor
lheifner
Posts: 20
Registered: ‎02-12-2013
Message 5 of 6 (742 Views)

Re: Saving Changes to Condition Quanities

03-22-2013 11:41 AM in reply to: KRoller

http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet/ps/dl/item?siteID=123112&id=20400244&linkID=10381885

 

 

Are you having success with QTO and how long have you used it?  We have a significant number of crashes to the point where no one in our office trusts it.  

 

Lew

Contributor
lheifner
Posts: 20
Registered: ‎02-12-2013
Message 6 of 6 (738 Views)

Re: Saving Changes to Condition Quantities

03-22-2013 11:53 AM in reply to: lheifner

http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet/ps/dl/index?siteID=123112&id=2334435&linkID=10381885#

 

This link is to the QTO update page with several years on it; I'd bookmark it for future use.   

 

You will need to stay on top of any updates yourself.  QTO dose not automagically update itself like most modern software.  To my knowledge, there is not a manual update from within the software either.  

 

We are still waiting for answers from Autodesk on our crashing issues.  Look here:

http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/Autodesk-Quantity-Takeoff/Is-anyone-successfully-using-QTO-2013/td-p/3...

 

Lew

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are You Going To Be @ AU 2014? Feel free to drop by our AU topic post and share your plans, plug a class that you're teaching, or simply check out who else from the community might be in attendance. Ohh and don't forgot to stop by the Autodesk Help | Learn | Collaborate booths in the Exhibit Hall and meet our community team if you get a chance!