Quantity Takeoff

Quantity Takeoff

Reply
New Member
rbetty
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎01-31-2012
Message 1 of 5 (1,188 Views)

QTO 2013 scale not defaulting to "published" when importing DWF files

1188 Views, 4 Replies
04-19-2012 02:00 PM

I don't know how this happened but my files have been working fine in 2013 for a week or so now and all of a sudden my scale reverts to 1:1 on all pages.  I manually re-set the scale to "published" and that single page is corrected.  Even though I check "apply to all pages in project" it does not.  I have to manually set the scale for each page.  I can save the file close and re-open and the scale is off again as if I never changed it.

Please help.

Alumni
john.lipp
Posts: 359
Registered: ‎08-28-2009
Message 2 of 5 (1,169 Views)

Re: QTO 2013 scale not defaulting to "published" when importing DWF fi

04-24-2012 06:20 PM in reply to: rbetty

Hi rbetty


The “apply to all sheets in this project” box only applies to Scale Style and Drawing Units.
http://docs.autodesk.com/QTO/2013/ENU/QTO_Help_Files_2013/index.html

You have to set the sheet scale individually:

http://docs.autodesk.com/QTO/2013/ENU/QTO_Help_Files_2013/index.html

However, this doesn’t explain why the scale is changing back after saving and reopening the ATO file.   Does the same issue occur if you right click the sheet in the documents panel, select properties, and change the scale from there as it does from opening the sheet and clicking Documents > Properties from the menu?

Does this issue occur on your end with the sample dormitory.ato file found in the installation folder listed below:
C:\Program Files (x86)\Autodesk\Quantity Takeoff 2013\Samples


Best regards,



John Lipp
Support Specialist
Product Support
Autodesk, Inc.

New Member
rbetty
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎01-31-2012
Message 3 of 5 (1,157 Views)

Re: QTO 2013 scale not defaulting to "published" when importing DWF fi

04-27-2012 01:19 PM in reply to: john.lipp

The particular issue I was having with that file seemed to resolve itself.  I do not know what was causing it,  nor do I know what made it stop happening.

 

Now we are having a similar issue.  To do an add on estimate to an existing one (a bedroom was added to the second floor) we opened the original file, hit "FILE>Save As> and renamed it, then imported the new drawings with the additional bedroom in an attempt to copy the orignal estimates to the updated drawings then just continue and add the new walls/floor to the original estimate..

the new file created did not default to "Published" scale but is reverting to 1:1 again.  Changing it, saving, closing, re-opening and scale reverts back to 1:1.

 

 

Alumni
john.lipp
Posts: 359
Registered: ‎08-28-2009
Message 4 of 5 (1,126 Views)

Re: QTO 2013 scale not defaulting to "published" when importing DWF fi

05-07-2012 10:55 AM in reply to: rbetty

Dear rbetty


I’ve not been able to reproduce what you’ve described.  Is this issue only occurring when importing the sheets into this specific ATO.  If you import the sheet into the dormitory example ATO file, does it come in with the published scale?

You can find the dormitory example ATO on your machine under the samples folder:
 C:\Program Files (x86)\Autodesk\Quantity Takeoff 2013\Samples

If the issue is only occurring with these specific files, would you be able to send the files through opening a support request on the subscription center and I can reproduce the issue on my machine?:

http://subscription.autodesk.com


Best regards,



John Lipp
Support Specialist
Product Support
Autodesk, Inc.

New Member
dcreach
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎06-19-2012
Message 5 of 5 (1,040 Views)

Re: QTO 2013 scale not defaulting to "published" when importing DWF fi

08-02-2012 01:06 PM in reply to: john.lipp

I'm having a similar problem trying to set the scale in one of my projects. I open document properties, change the Scale Style to Architectural (would be nice to default to arch), and I change the sheet scale and hit Apply and OK.  When I open the properties dialog again, the Sheet Scale is Custom instead of the 1/8" I selected.  This is an intermittent issue, and very painful to deal with. 

 

This is the first project I've opened in 2013.  I may go back to 2012, even tho it was wrought with issues as well.  It's kinda important to be able to accurately set the scale when you doing takeoff. 

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are You Going To Be @ AU 2014? Feel free to drop by our AU topic post and share your plans, plug a class that you're teaching, or simply check out who else from the community might be in attendance. Ohh and don't forgot to stop by the Autodesk Help | Learn | Collaborate booths in the Exhibit Hall and meet our community team if you get a chance!