Printing and Plotting

Reply
Contributor
amberb
Posts: 22
Registered: ‎06-06-2003
Message 1 of 6 (69 Views)

Suddenly making huge plot files

69 Views, 5 Replies
03-25-2003 12:09 AM
I'm using ABS3. Today I plotted a drawing and an 11 MB plot file was made. Last week this same drawing resulted in a plot file less than 1 MB. I can go to anyone else's computer in the office and the plot file size for this drawing is about 800 KB. I haven't changed anything related to my PC3 file or anything elses -- it happened seemingly overnight.

I have a P4 1.8 GHz with Windows 2000. The plotter (HP Designjet 600) is on the server, which is a P3 something with Windows NT 4 with whatever the latest service pack is.

When we were using ABM2, this happened occasionally and I could open the PC3 file, click on the Defaults button and this would stop happening. That approach doesn't work with ABS3.

This happened a couple months ago and the only way I could stop it was in uninstall and reinstall ABS3. I'd prefer not to spend the next day going through that process as I have a project going out at the end of the week. Does anyone know how to resolve this issue?

Thank you!
*Saadallah, Dean
Message 2 of 6 (69 Views)

Re: Suddenly making huge plot files

03-25-2003 02:14 AM in reply to: amberb
Unfortunately, that not an AutoCAD setting or fix: it's solely a driver
issue.

--
Dean Saadallah
http://www.pendean.com
LT Express Utilities
http://www.pendean.com/ltexpress
Expanded Links Pages
http://www.pendean.com/lt/links.htm
--
*Alexander, Dave
Message 3 of 6 (69 Views)

Re: Suddenly making huge plot files

03-25-2003 03:44 AM in reply to: amberb
I recently noticed that when making plot files, the
plot file when the setting was for "process in printer" was twice that when the
setting was for "process in computer".

 

I don't know if this will help as I was creating
plot files for an HP 1055cm.

 

Dave Alexander


style="PADDING-RIGHT: 0px; PADDING-LEFT: 5px; MARGIN-LEFT: 5px; BORDER-LEFT: #000000 2px solid; MARGIN-RIGHT: 0px">
I'm
using ABS3. Today I plotted a drawing and an 11 MB plot file was made. Last
week this same drawing resulted in a plot file less than 1 MB. I can go to
anyone else's computer in the office and the plot file size for this drawing
is about 800 KB. I haven't changed anything related to my PC3 file or anything
elses -- it happened seemingly overnight.

I have a P4 1.8 GHz with Windows 2000. The plotter (HP Designjet 600) is on
the server, which is a P3 something with Windows NT 4 with whatever the latest
service pack is.

When we were using ABM2, this happened occasionally and I could open the
PC3 file, click on the Defaults button and this would stop happening. That
approach doesn't work with ABS3.

This happened a couple months ago and the only way I could stop it was in
uninstall and reinstall ABS3. I'd prefer not to spend the next day going
through that process as I have a project going out at the end of the week.
Does anyone know how to resolve this issue?

Thank you!

Contributor
amberb
Posts: 22
Registered: ‎06-06-2003
Message 4 of 6 (69 Views)

Re:

03-25-2003 07:02 AM in reply to: amberb
I'm sorry, Dean, that just isn't true. Everyone else in the office is using the same driver and I didn't change anything to make this happen. If it was solely a driver issue, everyone in the office would have the same problem and reinstalling AutoCAD wouldn't fix it. I know Autodesk refuses to acknowledge it is an AutoCAD issue because they can't do anything specific to recreate the problem, but it is and AutoCAD issue and I guess I'll be reinstalling AutoCAD again. What a waste of time!
*Saadallah, Dean
Message 5 of 6 (69 Views)

Re:

03-25-2003 09:45 PM in reply to: amberb
It's a driver issue: some users report changing the driver setting from IN
PRINTER to IN COMPUTER produces smaller plot files.
Most everyone else notice a driver version change can also affect file size:
latest Windows Drivers from HP for the 1050c (also includes HP600
definitions) makes the smallest file sizes possible.

There are even more solutions, posted all over here, if you looked around
before posting.

A plotter faster than the reliable but old HP600 and you would not notice
any of this, as all the newer plotters don't seem to choke on R2000 (and
higher) output or file size. Plan on an upgrade this year if your business
plan allows for it.

--
Dean Saadallah
http://www.pendean.com
LT Express Utilities
http://www.pendean.com/ltexpress
Expanded Links Pages
http://www.pendean.com/lt/links.htm
--
Contributor
amberb
Posts: 22
Registered: ‎06-06-2003
Message 6 of 6 (69 Views)

Re:

03-25-2003 11:15 PM in reply to: amberb
So you're saying that one day the driver is working fine and the next day the same driver is creating all kinds of problems on my computer and not any other computer in the office? That's ridiculous, and of course I looked around before I posted, but I couldn't find a solution that made any sense for what I'm experiencing. Unfortunately I wasted time by posting here, hoping that someone would actually be able to help without telling me it's a driver problem and to upgrade our plotter. Give me a break, that's not the answer! When I find the real answer, I'll make sure to post it so others can benefit.
Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.