Printing and Plotting

Printing and Plotting

Reply
Contributor
orntar
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎02-16-2009
Message 1 of 11 (250 Views)

Plotting on 2010 and 2009

250 Views, 10 Replies
04-10-2009 07:15 AM
We have just installed TrueView 2010 for our designers, and the cad staff is using AutoCAD 2009. We have a KIP 3000 plotter that both need to plot to. We have the HDI9 drivers and the HDI10 drivers for the KIP, but do not want to have multiple versions of the same pc3 files for them to pick, I need to minimize confusion. Is there anyway to have 2010 and 2009 look at the same plotters with different drivers? Thanks
*Dean Saadallah
Message 2 of 11 (250 Views)

Re: Plotting on 2010 and 2009

04-10-2009 07:53 AM in reply to: orntar
Nope.

--
Dean Saadallah
http://LTisACAD.blogspot.com
--
Active Member
mboyer
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 3 of 11 (250 Views)

Re: Plotting on 2010 and 2009

04-16-2009 11:43 AM in reply to: orntar
Where did you find the HDI 10 drivers for the KIP? We are rolling out AutoCAD 2010 and I can't find them anywhere.
New Member
mark
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎04-21-2009
Message 4 of 11 (250 Views)

Re: Plotting on 2010 and 2009

04-21-2009 09:02 PM in reply to: orntar
care to elaborate?
*Rodney McManamy
Message 5 of 11 (250 Views)

Re: Plotting on 2010 and 2009

04-22-2009 05:15 AM in reply to: orntar

Don't you just keep the pc3 file the same for both
and store them in different locations.  The drawing doesn't save any
information except what you call the pc3 file or the name of the system printer
driver if you are using that.  So if you name it KIP 3000.pc3 for both the
2009 and 2010 versions you shouldn't have a problem as long as you setup the
margins and such the same in both versions.



style="PADDING-RIGHT: 0px; PADDING-LEFT: 5px; MARGIN-LEFT: 5px; BORDER-LEFT: #000000 2px solid; MARGIN-RIGHT: 0px">
We
have just installed TrueView 2010 for our designers, and the cad staff is
using AutoCAD 2009. We have a KIP 3000 plotter that both need to plot to. We
have the HDI9 drivers and the HDI10 drivers for the KIP, but do not want to
have multiple versions of the same pc3 files for them to pick, I need to
minimize confusion. Is there anyway to have 2010 and 2009 look at the same
plotters with different drivers? Thanks
Active Member
mboyer
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 6 of 11 (250 Views)

Re: Plotting on 2010 and 2009

04-22-2009 05:36 AM in reply to: orntar
I've created a KIP 5000.pc3 back when we implemented 2009. It has worked fine and allowed me to create additional sheet sizes through the pc3 file. When I create the 2010 version of the KIP 5000.pc3, it plots fine however, I can't add additional sheet sizes. According to our KIP tech, we need a HDI 10 file. Question of the day....where can you download the HDI 10 file?
*Rodney McManamy
Message 7 of 11 (250 Views)

Re: Plotting on 2010 and 2009

04-22-2009 06:57 AM in reply to: orntar

The HDI 10 (Heidi Driver Interface) is installed
with AutoCAD 2010 and is the generic interface for output. 

 

You will need to create the KIP 5000.pc3 from
scratch, you can't copy over the one from 2009 because that will be pointing to
the HDI 9 from 2009.  So what you probably really need is KIP's AutoCAD
2010 driver for the 5000 if they have it.  If not then you are probably
stuck configuring it as a system printer in AutoCAD.

 

The Pc3 files store a ton of crap in them so you
really cannot share them between versions or even between operating
systems.



style="PADDING-RIGHT: 0px; PADDING-LEFT: 5px; MARGIN-LEFT: 5px; BORDER-LEFT: #000000 2px solid; MARGIN-RIGHT: 0px">
I've
created a KIP 5000.pc3 back when we implemented 2009. It has worked fine and
allowed me to create additional sheet sizes through the pc3 file. When I
create the 2010 version of the KIP 5000.pc3, it plots fine however, I can't
add additional sheet sizes. According to our KIP tech, we need a HDI 10 file.
Question of the day....where can you download the HDI 10
file?
Contributor
orntar
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎02-16-2009
Message 8 of 11 (250 Views)

Re: Plotting on 2010 and 2009

04-24-2009 09:04 AM in reply to: orntar
its on kips web site.
Active Member
aerotight31
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎04-28-2009
Message 9 of 11 (250 Views)

Re: Plotting on 2010 and 2009

04-28-2009 07:09 AM in reply to: orntar
Moved question to own thread. Edited by: aerotight31 on Apr 28, 2009 2:51 PM
*jpdomein
Message 10 of 11 (250 Views)

Re: Plotting on 2010 and 2009

05-06-2009 01:25 AM in reply to: orntar
I create a set of folders for every new version (cad2008, cad2009,
cad2010, etc.) in that way I can edit/create files for each new version
seperatly without messing up a running version.
In these folders all files neccessary are placed (linetypes, lisp, pc3, etc)

Regards,
Jan

orntar wrote:
> We have just installed TrueView 2010 for our designers, and the cad
> staff is using AutoCAD 2009. We have a KIP 3000 plotter that both need
> to plot to. We have the HDI9 drivers and the HDI10 drivers for the KIP,
> but do not want to have multiple versions of the same pc3 files for them
> to pick, I need to minimize confusion. Is there anyway to have 2010 and
> 2009 look at the same plotters with different drivers? Thanks
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.