Printing and Plotting

Printing and Plotting

Reply
Active Member
timmee27
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎04-18-2005
Message 1 of 6 (103 Views)

Plot Path with AC LT 2005

103 Views, 5 Replies
05-25-2005 07:57 AM
I have read some threads about AC 2005/6 and the FULLPLOTPATH variable. This setting doen't exist in AC LT 2005. Does anyone know of a command or way of changing this with LT 2005? Right now I have to save the drawing to the C drive to print it. Imagine the nightmare that will become!!!
Distinguished Contributor
peter.ashby
Posts: 907
Registered: ‎05-25-2004
Message 2 of 6 (103 Views)

Re: Plot Path with AC LT 2005

05-25-2005 09:02 AM in reply to: timmee27
we have some ideas that it may be related to spaces in the file path or file name, you could try replacing the spaces with the - or _ character, let us know if it works.
Active Member
timmee27
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎04-18-2005
Message 3 of 6 (103 Views)

Re: Plot Path with AC LT 2005

05-25-2005 09:18 AM in reply to: timmee27
I never use spaces in my file names. I always use a - or _ in the file name. I think the problem is with the folders I save them in. We deal with a large number of customers and each on has its own folder. Within that folder are subfolders and so on. When I plot it is showing up on the plotter display panel as the full file path name (directory:\\customer\folder...etc.). Hopefully Autodesk will find a solution for LT users. Let me know if you find anything else. Thanks for the help though. Much appreciated.

Tim
*Govert J. Knopper
Message 4 of 6 (103 Views)

Re: Plot Path with AC LT 2005

05-25-2005 09:43 AM in reply to: timmee27
It is not available in 2005. My GoPlot Plus has an option to strip the path
from the name, but to use it you'll have to make plotfiles first.

Govert

schreef in bericht news:4855959@discussion.autodesk.com...
I have read some threads about AC 2005/6 and the FULLPLOTPATH variable. This
setting doen't exist in AC LT 2005. Does anyone know of a command or way of
changing this with LT 2005? Right now I have to save the drawing to the C
drive to print it. Imagine the nightmare that will become!!!
Distinguished Contributor
peter.ashby
Posts: 907
Registered: ‎05-25-2004
Message 5 of 6 (103 Views)

Re: Plot Path with AC LT 2005

05-26-2005 01:17 AM in reply to: timmee27
Let me guess that the issue is when the plot path name goes beyond 255 characters, a bit like a similar problem with joliet filenames and burning CD's, IMHO things went downhill when they enabled file and folder names to be longer than 6 characters, and allowed spaces -- OK Ok I know they are good in some ways, but when the folder name goes over about 70 characters, then has similar sub folders, then I think the engineers are pushing things just a bit too much. we try and keep our individual folders brief and descriptive, ie 8 figure job number, sub folders abbreviated stn for station dwg for drawings SD for schematic diagrams etc, and we dont seem to get as many problems. we do have issues with the long filenames sent to the printer though, we cannot tell which drawing is printing by looking at the printer display, so much so that some of my users have taken to printing upside down so the drawing number bottom right comes out of the printer first.
*Govert J. Knopper
Message 6 of 6 (103 Views)

Re: Plot Path with AC LT 2005

05-26-2005 06:16 AM in reply to: timmee27
No, things went downhill when Autodesk made a change in AutoCAD 2005.

The issue is that the DesignJet's display is limited to ~20 characters. The
filename (jobname) that you see on the DesignJet's display is read from a
string that is written in the plotfile. In AutoCAD 2000 - 2004 this was the
filename without path. In AutoCAD 2005 this was changed to the filename
including the full path. Only the first 20 characters are shown on the
display, meaning that in most situations you see only the (useless) first
part of the path.

Why did they make that change? Other users had been pushing that they wanted
to see the full path in the printer queue. With the current DesignJet driver
the same string is used for what is published on the plotter's display and
for what you see in the printer queue. So Autodesk made a choice (the wrong
one obviously :-)) and at the same time asked HP to modify the driver.
Apparently HP had other priorities.

In AutoCAD 2006 this is fixed with this variable, giving fans of the name
with full path the option to see this, and fans of the name only the option
to manage their jobs on the plotter's display.

So now we're back on the hill.

Govert

schreef in bericht news:4856980@discussion.autodesk.com...
Let me guess that the issue is when the plot path name goes beyond 255
characters, a bit like a similar problem with joliet filenames and burning
CD's, IMHO things went downhill when they enabled file and folder names to
be longer than 6 characters, and allowed spaces -- OK Ok I know they are
good in some ways, but when the folder name goes over about 70 characters,
then has similar sub folders, then I think the engineers are pushing things
just a bit too much. we try and keep our individual folders brief and
descriptive, ie 8 figure job number, sub folders abbreviated stn for station
dwg for drawings SD for schematic diagrams etc, and we dont seem to get as
many problems. we do have issues with the long filenames sent to the printer
though, we cannot tell which drawing is printing by looking at the printer
display, so much so that some of my users have taken to printing upside down
so the drawing number bottom right comes out of the printer first.
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.