Printing and Plotting

Printing and Plotting

Reply
New Member
greatfish
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎02-24-2009
Message 1 of 3 (138 Views)

Issue Plotting to PDF, plots previous drawing open, not active drawing

138 Views, 2 Replies
02-24-2009 02:51 PM
The problem is random and I can't force a duplication of the issue (which is always annoying), but this is what takes place.

Windows XP Pro - Fresh restart...

Open AutoCAD 2007 --> Open drawing 1 --> Plot drawing 1 using PDF995 --> Select ARCH E (48"x36" size) --> Click preview --> verify drawing 1 is displayed --> Click 'Plot' --> Save PDF of drawing 1 (auto-populates drawing 1 name as pdf save as) --> save & close drawing 1 --> Open drawing 2 --> Plot drawing 2 using PDF995 --> Select ARCH E (48"x36" size) --> Click preview --> verify drawing 2 is displayed --> Click 'Plot' --> ..... This is when the problem takes place...

The 'Save As' dialog box displays drawing 1, rather then drawing 2. Regardless of changing the name to drawing 2 or leaving it as drawing 1, it always plots as drawing 1. If I cancel the Save As, then cancel the plot... and follow the steps again to plot, it works just fine. However, it will happen the same way on the very next drawing (i.e. close drawing 2, open drawing 3).

This takes place when saving both to a server and locally. It also will just suddenly stop causing problems, as in, will happen for 2 straight hours, then suddenly it will stop causing problems and plots correctly. Even multiple system restarts does not correct the problem.

I have checked the server logs, PC event logs, and the drawing history files... all of which do not show any odd pattern or issues.

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!
New Member
brantilla
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎06-16-2009
Message 2 of 3 (138 Views)

Re: Issue Plotting to PDF, plots previous drawing open, not active drawing

06-16-2009 08:29 AM in reply to: greatfish
I'm having the same problem, it started after I tried using publish for PDF creating, now everytime I plot it plots the previously opened/plotted drawing.

Is there something in "publish" that may have messed this up?
**Master
dmfrazier
Posts: 2,757
Registered: ‎05-13-2003
Message 3 of 3 (138 Views)

Re: Issue Plotting to PDF, plots previous drawing open, not active drawing

06-16-2009 10:36 AM in reply to: greatfish
Does this only happen when using the PDF995 driver? If so, have you looked for an updated driver?

If an update isn't available, try uninstalling and re-installing the driver.

(Or maybe it's time to look for an alternative PDF driver!)
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.