Printing and Plotting

Printing and Plotting

Reply
Contributor
arollins
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎03-18-2010
Message 1 of 7 (3,135 Views)

High res images pixelate when plotting..

3135 Views, 6 Replies
03-18-2010 08:45 AM
I'm having quite a problem with some high res ortho photos I'm attempting to lay behind my linework in a presentation drawing. The image is a 90MB tiff. Things look fine until I plot. Once plotted, the image turns into a low res pixelated mess. This happens when printing to a printer... or to PDF... so I don't believe it's a driver issue.

I have searched around and found the rasterpercent and rasterthreshold variables and I'm currently set at 80 and 70 respectively.

LDD 2008, XP 4 gigs , Image is referenced Ideas? TIA
*Dave Drahn
Message 2 of 7 (3,135 Views)

Re: High res images pixelate when plotting..

03-18-2010 01:14 PM in reply to: arollins


One thing to try:  in the properties of the pc3 or printer the first
dialog box has a Graphics settings area. Expand that and down below select the
Raster line and push the slider up a notch or 2.  Seems to help us out
every now and then but will blow the plotters memory if set too high on hi res
plots so we keep it in the middle for everyday use.

 



"arollins" wrote in message
news:6356897@discussion.autodesk.com...
> I'm having quite a problem with
some high res ortho photos I'm attempting to lay behind my linework in a
presentation drawing.  The image is a 90MB tiff.  Things look fine
until I plot.  Once plotted, the image turns into a low res pixelated
mess.  This happens when printing to a printer... or to PDF... so I don't
believe it's a driver issue. 
>
> I have searched around and
found the rasterpercent and rasterthreshold variables and I'm currently set at
80 and 70 respectively. 
>
> LDD 2008, XP 4 gigs , Image is
referenced    Ideas?  TIA

Contributor
arollins
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎03-18-2010
Message 3 of 7 (3,135 Views)

Re: High res images pixelate when plotting..

03-18-2010 01:28 PM in reply to: arollins
Already maxed out there. I've maximized all the obvious quality settings best I can with no joy. It may have something to do with this company's deployment. I'm with a new firm and I can't recall ever having this problem before.
*Terry Drewes
Message 4 of 7 (3,135 Views)

Re: High res images pixelate when plotting..

03-20-2010 08:37 PM in reply to: arollins
Try print to file and spool it to the device. Also, have you check
custom properties of the PC3?


~Terry

arollins wrote:
> I'm having quite a problem with some high res ortho photos I'm attempting to lay behind my linework in a presentation drawing. The image is a 90MB tiff. Things look fine until I plot. Once plotted, the image turns into a low res pixelated mess. This happens when printing to a printer... or to PDF... so I don't believe it's a driver issue.
>
> I have searched around and found the rasterpercent and rasterthreshold variables and I'm currently set at 80 and 70 respectively.
>
> LDD 2008, XP 4 gigs , Image is referenced Ideas? TIA
Contributor
arollins
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎03-18-2010
Message 5 of 7 (3,135 Views)

Re: High res images pixelate when plotting..

03-23-2010 08:09 AM in reply to: arollins
I haven't tried plotting directly to a plt file and then spooling it. But I have printed to bluebeam with similar results, and our printer spooling is turned on.

I have gone through the PC3 custom settings and maximized things the best I could with no change.

I'm stumped. Will try a test print tonight from my home machine with a vanilla deployment. I still suspect my firm's deployment may be to blame.
*Terry Drewes
Message 6 of 7 (3,135 Views)

Re: High res images pixelate when plotting..

04-05-2010 08:26 PM in reply to: arollins
What is your plotter device? Is the XP 64bit? You might need to use
HPGL/2 language, i.e. hp750c / hp1050c and spool a PLT directly to the
netshare port of the device. Your DWG with large IMAGES, probably needs
to spool locally to image the plot properly.

What is the resultant PLT size? What is your Plotter's RAM. If your
PLT is larger than the Server's plot spool folder (i.e free HD on server
say around 500Mb, and plot is 600Mb), you might be losing data in the
spooling. Or if your Plotter's RAM is too small, you might be losing
data in the transmission.

I have usually found with large PLTs, best to process locally on the PC,
and then use a simple CMD copy to the device directly. For example:
COPY /B MYGIANTPLOT.PLT /B //MYSERVERNAME/MYPLOTTERNAME


~Terry

arollins wrote:
> I haven't tried plotting directly to a plt file and then spooling it. But I have printed to bluebeam with similar results, and our printer spooling is turned on.
>
> I have gone through the PC3 custom settings and maximized things the best I could with no change.
>
> I'm stumped. Will try a test print tonight from my home machine with a vanilla deployment. I still suspect my firm's deployment may be to blame.
*MWhite
Message 7 of 7 (3,135 Views)

Re: High res images pixelate when plotting..

04-18-2010 08:40 AM in reply to: arollins
If you are plotting the whole image on one page, you can stop reading
here . . . I have no useful help.


If you have portions the image tiled across multiple layouts, please
consider the following:
Most image files have some measure of compression, so your 90Mb Tiff has
the potential to be 3 to 8 times that size when decompressed to be sent
to the plotter. If you can split the image into multiple tiles at full
resolution, and insert each of the tiles on a separate image layer that
is VPfrozen in each layout so that CAD is only processing one tile of
the image at a time it helps.

I've heard a couple of people in tech support roles indicate that this
is a case of the software's computational ability exceeding the limits
of the hardware. This is supported by the workarounds posted by others
wherein they were pointing out the memory and page file limits of the
equipment and ways to spoon feed smaller amounts to the plot device.




On 3/18/2010 9:45 AM, arollins wrote:
> I'm having quite a problem with some high res ortho photos I'm attempting to lay behind my linework in a presentation drawing. The image is a 90MB tiff. Things look fine until I plot. Once plotted, the image turns into a low res pixelated mess. This happens when printing to a printer... or to PDF... so I don't believe it's a driver issue.
>
> I have searched around and found the rasterpercent and rasterthreshold variables and I'm currently set at 80 and 70 respectively.
>
> LDD 2008, XP 4 gigs , Image is referenced Ideas? TIA
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.