Printing and Plotting

Printing and Plotting

Reply
Contributor
MaciejKrynski8090
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎10-09-2010
Message 1 of 21 (931 Views)

DWG2PDF plotter - raster compression

931 Views, 20 Replies
01-27-2012 09:43 AM

I have problem with AutoCAD DWG to PDF printer. When I use a vector drawing with a raster map attached and print the layout with the DWG to PDF printer, all the vector elements looks perfect in the output pdf file, but the raster image is almost unreadable. It doesn't help if I increase print resolution and it looks if there would be some kind of default jpeg compression inside this printer but there aren't any settings to control it or simply turn it off. After plotting such a drawing on the HP plotter it is so awful that there is no use of such a file. Please help me with this issue - I couldn't find it enywhere in this forum. Best regards, Maciej

*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 22,636
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 2 of 21 (924 Views)

Re: DWG2PDF plotter - raster compression

01-27-2012 12:06 PM in reply to: MaciejKrynski8090

Your posted image is from what, AutoCAD or the PDF? From AutoCAD would mean something (looks like you have a low quality image to start with judging by the other items), from the PDF is meaningless (looks like a low quality).

 

And your AutoCAD version is...?

Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
Contributor
MaciejKrynski8090
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎10-09-2010
Message 3 of 21 (911 Views)

Re: DWG2PDF plotter - raster compression

01-30-2012 02:48 AM in reply to: pendean

As an attachment I've gave is a part of a print screen of earlier created pdf file. I wanted to attach a pdf file, but It was to big and I couldn't send this post with so big attached file. So the view you see is the view of printed pdf. There was no compression between printed pdf and png file. It looks just the same in pdf.

I'm working on Civil3d2012

Contributor
MaciejKrynski8090
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎10-09-2010
Message 4 of 21 (862 Views)

Re: DWG2PDF plotter - raster compression

02-19-2012 06:52 AM in reply to: MaciejKrynski8090

Does anyone from Autodesk respond to this issue? If anything is not understandable I will try to explain. It is really big problem for my designing office and for my workers. 

*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 22,636
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 5 of 21 (856 Views)

Re: DWG2PDF plotter - raster compression

02-20-2012 09:58 AM in reply to: MaciejKrynski8090

Autodesk support is now on Twitter 24/5 (@autodeskcare): http://autode.sk/sbGrpx

Up & Ready Installation and Startup Help (free for new installs):
http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet/index?siteID=123112&id=2786107&linkID=9240817

Safety Net / Per Incident Autodesk support (not free):
http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet/index?siteID=123112&id=15892664&linkID=9240817

If you are on subscription, visit your Autodesk
Subscription Page for direct Autodesk Help:
http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet/index?siteID=123112&id=2915212&linkID=9240817

Customer Error Reporting:
http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet/index?siteID=123112&id=7047344&linkID=9240817

Different options that are available for self-help
technical support from Autodesk Product Support
E-Services:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ylj0o-R_Zn0

Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
Distinguished Contributor
ssx_Autodesk
Posts: 264
Registered: ‎03-31-2008
Message 6 of 21 (823 Views)

Re: DWG2PDF plotter - raster compression

02-28-2012 12:42 PM in reply to: pendean

this could be your answer for EVERY post! :smileyhappy:

______________________________
~ "if this were /. this would be funny"
*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 22,636
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 7 of 21 (821 Views)

Re: DWG2PDF plotter - raster compression

02-28-2012 01:24 PM in reply to: ssx_Autodesk

Only if they want "Autodesk" to guarantee a response, then they must go to the source and know where that is :smileyhappy:

Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
Contributor
MaciejKrynski8090
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎10-09-2010
Message 8 of 21 (814 Views)

Re: DWG2PDF plotter - raster compression

02-28-2012 11:07 PM in reply to: pendean

Hi pendolino! Are you going to help me, or you are here only for fun??!!! If you need some other info about this issue, please don't hesitate to write it, but don't waste my time - I have bought AutoCAD and I'have spent couple of days trying to print this map and I got my project loose the shedule, so get to work and stop posting only annoying, not helping, posts! 

*Expert Elite*
Charles_Shade
Posts: 8,204
Registered: ‎04-10-2005
Message 9 of 21 (808 Views)

Re: DWG2PDF plotter - raster compression

02-29-2012 05:11 AM in reply to: MaciejKrynski8090

...and the answer to the inserted image quality is...?

Lo Res, High Res, DPI, Pixels, ?

Hard to answer a question when the asked for information is not available.

Regards, Charles Shade            Win8 FAQ
CSHADEDESIGN|AUTOCAD LT|LT-KB|DYNAMIC BLOCKS

 
Please mark Accept as Solution if your question is answered. Kudos gladly accepted.
Contributor
MaciejKrynski8090
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎10-09-2010
Message 10 of 21 (805 Views)

Re: DWG2PDF plotter - raster compression

02-29-2012 05:21 AM in reply to: Charles_Shade

I've answered that question: "There was no compression between printed pdf and png file. It looks just the same in pdf." If it isn't clear enough, I write again: 1. I've printed a pdf file directly from AutoCAD (DWG to PDF AutoCAD printer), 2. I've  opened the file and made printscreen, 3. I've inserted print screen image to paint and saved it to png file WITHOUT ANY IMAGE COMPRESSION. The end. If it is still not clear -> THERE IS NO VISIBLE DIFFERENCE IF PNG AND PRINTED PDF IS COMPARED. 

But if you ask about printing settings in AutoCAD (dpi, etc.), there is no difference even if the 1200 dpi quality is set. There is still some kind of jpg compression and it is perfectly visible in attached file, with looks EXACTLY the same as printed PDF!!! 

I do not believe sb can't understand it. I am aware, my English is poor, but is it really THAT bad, no one understands? You all still ask not important things and don't focus on AutoCAD settings, where there is no compression setting in DWG to PDF printer.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.