Pointing Devices and Displays

Pointing Devices and Displays

Rholo
Message 1 of 6 (537 Views)

wrong command from keyboard abbreviations

537 Views, 5 Replies
08-26-2010 02:53 PM

I have been using autocad for many years.  within the last year, i have had a recurring and terribly frustrating issue.

I'm pretty sure it started happening after an update, but i cant remember what revision.  I'm using 2011 now.

when i type "tr" for trim with my left hand, and right click for "enter", autocad only sees the "t" for text.

if i slow down and exaggerate my movements, it will work fine.

The same happens when i type "ex" for extend, i get only "e" for erase and "mi" for mirror, i get "m" for move.

this is a constant problem throughtout the day for me and it is really slowing me down.  when i'm trying to extend lines, i never know if i'm going to extend them or erase them.

even though i can see the "tr" on the screen, if i right click too quickly, it is only the "t" that cad recognizes.  After so many years, it is pretty much impossible to slow down my movements.

Anyone have a solution for this besides slowing down my clicking?  has anyone else had this problem?

thanks you.

asdemeter
Message 2 of 6 (532 Views)

Re: wrong command from keyboard abbreviations

08-26-2010 03:32 PM in reply to: Rholo
Sounds like you need a new keyboard, perhaps?
Rholo
Message 3 of 6 (529 Views)

08-26-2010 03:36 PM in reply to: asdemeter

actually, i use a remote keyboard and have multiple keyboards and mice and it doesnt matter which ones i'm using.  and it is not just me, a coworker does have the same problem, and we're both trying to figure out what to do about it.  something is wrong with cad, a setting, or maybe something else. 

asdemeter
Message 4 of 6 (527 Views)

08-26-2010 05:18 PM in reply to: Rholo
I'm at a loss, then. It's certainly odd. My only other guess would be hardware like RAM or something. It sounds like it intermittently, very briefly freezes up...
*Expert Elite*