Pointing Devices and Displays

Pointing Devices and Displays

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
CADMunkee
Posts: 443
Registered: ‎01-30-2008
Message 1 of 10 (433 Views)

Mouse Button Trouble - Delay of Pick

433 Views, 9 Replies
10-08-2008 06:10 AM
I've been noticing more and more with 2009 that there seems to be an ever so slight delay with the response of the pick button. If I pick quickly after launching a command then nothing happens, I need to pick again. Even though I'm using the pick after the command, it is so close that is seems like the command just hasn't processed yet. I never had this problem with older cad versions.

It's a minor thing but I move quick and having to pick twice slows me down. I can't normally slow myself down.

I've been able to reproduce on many machines so I know it's not my mouse.

Anything I can do about this or anyone have a similar experience?
*Dean Saadallah
Message 2 of 10 (433 Views)

Re: Mouse Button Trouble - Delay of Pick

10-09-2008 04:41 AM in reply to: CADMunkee
>>>... but I move quick ...<<<

Are you by chance moving off the button off selection before releasing your
mouse button? That's a Windows feature to cancel a selection from
activating.

--
Dean Saadallah
http://LTisACAD.blogspot.com
--
Distinguished Contributor
CADMunkee
Posts: 443
Registered: ‎01-30-2008
Message 3 of 10 (433 Views)

Re: Mouse Button Trouble - Delay of Pick

10-09-2008 04:56 AM in reply to: CADMunkee
I'm basically using a window...or trying to anyway.

It really just seems like the command hasn't processed quick enough
*Dean Saadallah
Message 4 of 10 (433 Views)

Re: Mouse Button Trouble - Delay of Pick

10-10-2008 06:07 AM in reply to: CADMunkee
I'm not seeing that at all: are others in your office having the same
problem, or just you on their machines?
Does turning DYN button off cure the problem?

--
Dean Saadallah
http://LTisACAD.blogspot.com
--
Member
paawpabear1955
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎10-15-2011
Message 5 of 10 (391 Views)

Re: Mouse Button Trouble - Delay of Pick

10-15-2011 10:01 PM in reply to: CADMunkee
  1. This is an issue that is driving me crazy!  In previous versions of AutoCAD (2008 and prior) when you picked an item, that executed the command; but starting in 2009 and also 2010, the command isn't executed until you release the button.  This is constantly causing the command above or below to be active.  It causes you to be slower in your work rather than faster.  I work in a production environment and anything that causes me to be slower is not good.  I am MUCH faster when working in 2008 than 2010 by far.  Who ever decided to make this change has never worked in a fast paced drawing environment.  AutoCAD is supposed to make you more productive not less.  What  made them think this was an positive thing to change is WRONG, big time!

*Expert Elite*
Charles_Shade
Posts: 8,204
Registered: ‎04-10-2005
Message 6 of 10 (381 Views)

Re: Mouse Button Trouble - Delay of Pick

10-18-2011 05:23 AM in reply to: paawpabear1955

Couple questions: (Because a Mouse will only execute a Command in any program after the button is released)

New Mouse?

Really old worn out held together with duck tape mouse?

New OS with the newer versions of CAD?

What is your Pickfirst variable set to?

Regards, Charles Shade            Win8 FAQ
CSHADEDESIGN|AUTOCAD LT|LT-KB|DYNAMIC BLOCKS

 
Please mark Accept as Solution if your question is answered. Kudos gladly accepted.
New Member
jccoggin
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎04-23-2010
Message 7 of 10 (369 Views)

Re: Mouse Button Trouble - Delay of Pick

10-21-2011 06:08 AM in reply to: Charles_Shade

have you tried quick.pic from manusoft.com

 

i have used it for years with a tablet.

 

Member
paawpabear1955
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎10-15-2011
Message 8 of 10 (312 Views)

Re: Mouse Button Trouble - Delay of Pick

11-09-2012 06:15 AM in reply to: Charles_Shade

Charles;

 

   Thank you for you reply.  Sorry for the delay in responding, I had written this from home and since we didn't have internet access at work I had forgotten where I had posted this question.  I have experienced this issue with a two year old mouse and a month old one.  Since a mouse doesn't execute a command until you release the button, why is it I never experienced this problem in AutoCAD 2008 or before, but have in every version since?  What does the pickfirst value control?  Presently mine is set at 1.

 

Thanks again for your help,

 

Ken Morse

*Expert Elite*
Charles_Shade
Posts: 8,204
Registered: ‎04-10-2005
Message 9 of 10 (158 Views)

Re: Mouse Button Trouble - Delay of Pick

04-23-2013 06:59 PM in reply to: paawpabear1955

PICKFIRST just lets you select an Entity prior to the issuance of a Command.

 

Any luck with your issue?

I seem to have left this query to hang as well

Regards, Charles Shade            Win8 FAQ
CSHADEDESIGN|AUTOCAD LT|LT-KB|DYNAMIC BLOCKS

 
Please mark Accept as Solution if your question is answered. Kudos gladly accepted.
Member
paawpabear1955
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎10-15-2011
Message 10 of 10 (155 Views)

Re: Mouse Button Trouble - Delay of Pick

04-23-2013 08:28 PM in reply to: CADMunkee

Thanks for your reply;

 

   I was able to work around the issue for awhile by setting up a customized quick toolbar which gave me more precise way to pick a command.  But our company has now forced us to go from using servers at our location to using Citrix servers at our home office for AutoCAD.  This has now given us very limited customization abilities due to having  to use a more standard set of toolbars.

   I have to just go slower and be more precise when picking my commands now.  This just seems counter productive to whole idea of increasing drawing productivity and speed.  Thanks AutoCAD for a job well done...:smileysad:.

 

Thanks again;

 

Ken Morse

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.