Pointing Devices and Displays

Pointing Devices and Displays

Reply
New Member
jturtle
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎03-24-2011
Message 1 of 5 (308 Views)

Dual Monitor Annoyance

308 Views, 4 Replies
03-24-2011 08:43 AM

One one monitor, I have a spreadsheet with hyperlinks to all of the drawings in a project.

 

On the other monitor, I have an AutoCad Mechanical 2011 session running.

 

When I click a hyperlink, the drawing generates in the Acad session, and then the WHOLE ACAD SESSION MOVES TO THE MONITOR WITH THE SPREADSHEET.  Each time this happens, I have to resize, move, and then maximize the drawing window so that I can view the spreadsheet and the acad session at the same time.

 

In a typical day, this action is repeated about 120 times, and is extremely annoying.

 

Is there some way to tell AutoCad to stay where I put it?  Please advise.  thanx... jpp

Distinguished Contributor
TherealJD
Posts: 416
Registered: ‎10-03-2008
Message 2 of 5 (283 Views)

Re: Dual Monitor Annoyance

04-18-2011 03:50 PM in reply to: jturtle

Apparently, you are not alone...

 

excel with AutoCAD problem

Valued Contributor
binuvarkey
Posts: 64
Registered: ‎09-18-2006
Message 3 of 5 (256 Views)

Re: Dual Monitor Annoyance

05-19-2011 05:35 PM in reply to: jturtle

We have the same problem here.

Very very annoying.

Autodesk Product Design Suite Premium 2014
Vault Workgroup 2014
Microsoft Windows 7 Professional 64bit SP1
Gigabyte P67A-UD3R-B3, Core i7-2600K CPU
8.00GB DDR3, NVIDIA Quadro 2000
*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 23,698
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 4 of 5 (248 Views)

Re: Dual Monitor Annoyance

05-23-2011 02:31 PM in reply to: jturtle

Which is the "primary" monitor?

Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
Valued Contributor
binuvarkey
Posts: 64
Registered: ‎09-18-2006
Message 5 of 5 (246 Views)

Re: Dual Monitor Annoyance

05-23-2011 03:57 PM in reply to: pendean

We have tried both autocad on primary monitor and excel on primary monitor. on clicking on a Hyperlink in excel, Autocad simply resizes and goes to the monitor where excel is. this behavour is consistant with MSOffice 2000, 2007 and 2010. with Acadm 2008 to 2012 on Windows XP, Vista 64 & Win 7 64bit.

 

Autodesk Product Design Suite Premium 2012 has some serious problems with Hyperlinks which I want to post in a different thread.

Autodesk Product Design Suite Premium 2014
Vault Workgroup 2014
Microsoft Windows 7 Professional 64bit SP1
Gigabyte P67A-UD3R-B3, Core i7-2600K CPU
8.00GB DDR3, NVIDIA Quadro 2000
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.