PLM 360 General Discussion

PLM 360 General Discussion

Reply
*Expert Elite*
scottmoyse
Posts: 1,659
Registered: ‎06-10-2009
Message 1 of 3 (176 Views)

PLM 360/Vault Sync restrictions

176 Views, 2 Replies
10-06-2012 05:17 PM

Why is the PLM 360 sync tool restricted to just Released & Obsolete Items?

 

It should just be based on a saved search, the saved search would allow users to choose if its restricted to a particular State.

 

I assume the only reason you would want to Sync Obsolete items is if they were previously released & sync'd to PLM. Its seems pointless to sync Obsolete items outright if they are obsolete. Am I missing something beyond what I've already stated?

Cheers
Scott Moyse

Please use Mark Solutions!.Accept as Solution &Give Kudos!Kudos to further enhance the value of these forums. Cheers!


   

Board Manager
broepke
Posts: 166
Registered: ‎01-24-2004
Message 2 of 3 (169 Views)

Re: PLM 360/Vault Sync restrictions

10-07-2012 06:03 AM in reply to: scottmoyse

Hi Scott,

 

It's a little unclear what you're asking for.  Would you like to no sync Obsolete items that were never released? Would you not like to have the history of your items in PLM 360?

 

One good reason that an "now" obsolete item gets pushed to PLM is because it probably has history behind it that was released (when you rebuild history).  This allows it to have those previously released items assciated with BOMs when they were released.  

 

Remember - if you have any suggestion on improving things please add them to the idea exchange so other users can see and vote them up!



Brian Roepke
Director of PLM & PDM
Autodesk, Inc.

*Expert Elite*
scottmoyse
Posts: 1,659
Registered: ‎06-10-2009
Message 3 of 3 (162 Views)

Re: PLM 360/Vault Sync restrictions

10-07-2012 12:55 PM in reply to: broepke

Ok I'll add it, but basically I want to be able to sync any Vault Items to PLM not just obsolete & Released ones. 

 

There's a whole bunch of reasons why I would want to extend pre-release Vault data outside the firewall for offsite collaboration & I can't at the moment.

 

Sure I can with an Item import, but that is a PITA for non released BOM data since I have to manually establish parent/child relationships in the excel file prior to importing into PLM.

Cheers
Scott Moyse

Please use Mark Solutions!.Accept as Solution &Give Kudos!Kudos to further enhance the value of these forums. Cheers!


   

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.