PLM 360 General Discussion

PLM 360 General Discussion

Reply
*Expert Elite*
punisher
Posts: 297
Registered: ‎10-13-2008
Message 1 of 10 (342 Views)
Accepted Solution

How to pick from multiple picklists

342 Views, 9 Replies
09-20-2012 08:22 AM

I need to map task items to potentially different parent options.

Currently the control lineage is this:

Project->Section->Group->Task

 

This causes a long list of needless creation for a simple task that does not need a breakdown.

If I permit the task to be managed from any of these heiarchies, then I can add the detail where needed, and reduce when not. **This I can do**

 

What I can't do is to define the parent object through a linking picklist, because I can only (currently) pick from one list.

How can I pick from a list of all three workspaces?

Project, Section, and Group.

 

Anyone have any ideas?

 

John

John Evans
Autodesk Certified Professional

http://designandmotion.net

Hi John,

John showed this to me a little while ago, and I was thought about a possible solution for you, it is outside of the norm, but if you are looking for a on the fly 3 tier link between multiple workspaces linking between each other. Why not use the BOM tab?

This would give you the ability to instantly link items from different workspaces and when needing to create a new item you can do that as well.  Also this would allow you to do some loop back linking for parent child relationships as well.

Not sure it will work with your idea / needs but it is an alternate method.

Let me know if you want to chat more about this.

Product Support
JohnCHill
Posts: 351
Registered: ‎03-27-2012
Message 2 of 10 (338 Views)

Re: How to pick from multiple picklists

09-20-2012 10:50 AM in reply to: punisher

Hi John,

 

Currently you cannot create one Linking Picklist that is made up of the records from multiple workspaces.

 

Since it sounds like you have a business need for this feature, may I suggest that you post this idea on our Autodesk PLM 360 Idea Exchange forum to potentially be incorporated in the product?

 

 



John Hill
Support Specialist
Product Support
Autodesk, Inc.
*Expert Elite*
punisher
Posts: 297
Registered: ‎10-13-2008
Message 3 of 10 (333 Views)

Re: How to pick from multiple picklists

09-20-2012 12:27 PM in reply to: JohnCHill

Thanks. Can you think of another workaround for this?

 

We perform product development occasionally (where we need the part numbering cascaded throughout the project) and then analysis jobs where we only need a project and the task, without the additional tiers of control.

 

My only solution at this point is to either:

 

Kill the parent link and manually enter the control code from the parent.

or

Kill the extra lower component group tier, and force the task to the higher tier (Design Section)

(Less control when I need it, but I rarely need that)

or

Create a duplicate task, ones that simply map to separate picklists of each workspace (ugghhh)

 

Any better suggestions?

John Evans
Autodesk Certified Professional

http://designandmotion.net
*Expert Elite*
scottmoyse
Posts: 1,659
Registered: ‎06-10-2009
Message 4 of 10 (327 Views)

Re: How to pick from multiple picklists

09-20-2012 12:50 PM in reply to: punisher

for situations like this I have created multiple picklists in a section. one pointing to each workspace, then you only use one depending on the situation.

 

I wondering if there is scope to hide the fields in dedicated sections based on the one you put a value into via scripting. But I doubt it.

Cheers
Scott Moyse

Please use Mark Solutions!.Accept as Solution &Give Kudos!Kudos to further enhance the value of these forums. Cheers!


   

Product Support
JohnCHill
Posts: 351
Registered: ‎03-27-2012
Message 5 of 10 (322 Views)

Re: How to pick from multiple picklists

09-20-2012 01:05 PM in reply to: scottmoyse

Great idea Scott,

 

John - will this solution work for you in having all three linking picklists available from one record?

 

 



John Hill
Support Specialist
Product Support
Autodesk, Inc.
*Expert Elite*
scottmoyse
Posts: 1,659
Registered: ‎06-10-2009
Message 6 of 10 (317 Views)

Re: How to pick from multiple picklists

09-20-2012 01:54 PM in reply to: JohnCHill

chers John, it still sucks though. It just clutters up the record.

Cheers
Scott Moyse

Please use Mark Solutions!.Accept as Solution &Give Kudos!Kudos to further enhance the value of these forums. Cheers!


   

*Expert Elite*
punisher
Posts: 297
Registered: ‎10-13-2008
Message 7 of 10 (316 Views)

Re: How to pick from multiple picklists

09-20-2012 02:14 PM in reply to: JohnCHill

Scott's full of ideas. problem is that behavior script takes parent data, and develops the control ID. With three fields, I'd need to do bounds checking to see which field was not null.

 

I think I'll just use the middle tier idea. The other option is to lose the parent link, which would truly suck.

 

I'd have to go to project management to get home, plus the display name would be confusing.   arrrgggghhhh..

John Evans
Autodesk Certified Professional

http://designandmotion.net
Product Support
piggeej
Posts: 281
Registered: ‎03-27-2012
Message 8 of 10 (310 Views)

Re: How to pick from multiple picklists

09-20-2012 02:51 PM in reply to: punisher

Hi John,

John showed this to me a little while ago, and I was thought about a possible solution for you, it is outside of the norm, but if you are looking for a on the fly 3 tier link between multiple workspaces linking between each other. Why not use the BOM tab?

This would give you the ability to instantly link items from different workspaces and when needing to create a new item you can do that as well.  Also this would allow you to do some loop back linking for parent child relationships as well.

Not sure it will work with your idea / needs but it is an alternate method.

Let me know if you want to chat more about this.



Joe Piggee
Support Specialist
Product Support
Autodesk, Inc.

*Expert Elite*
punisher
Posts: 297
Registered: ‎10-13-2008
Message 9 of 10 (298 Views)

Re: How to pick from multiple picklists

09-24-2012 04:20 AM in reply to: piggeej

Thanks Joe.

It won't in this case, but it is something to keep in mine.

What I did was scrap my 3rd tier and allow the system to link subsequent 2nd tiers, one behind the other.

This allows me to build as deep and more finite as I want, and manage items as deep as I need (or shallow).

 

The 3rd tier was simply a cloned 2nd tier workspace, renamed. Each was puposed separately, but I simply permitted tasking from the 2nd tier, and revised the behavior scripts. It actually cleaned things up a bit.

 

You all were a great help. Thanks for the effort.

John Evans
Autodesk Certified Professional

http://designandmotion.net
*Expert Elite*
punisher
Posts: 297
Registered: ‎10-13-2008
Message 10 of 10 (297 Views)

Re: How to pick from multiple picklists

09-24-2012 04:23 AM in reply to: JohnCHill

I tried it, using some bounds checking in the behavior scripts. It did work, along with a 'one or the other' validation.

I realzed that I could go more streamlined and solve the problem. I posted that below in a reply to Joe.

 

Thanks again.

John Evans
Autodesk Certified Professional

http://designandmotion.net
Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.