PLM 360 General Discussion

PLM 360 General Discussion

Reply
*Expert Elite*
scottmoyse
Posts: 1,696
Registered: ‎06-10-2009
Message 1 of 11 (268 Views)
Accepted Solution

Change user status to Deleted

268 Views, 10 Replies
05-09-2012 04:17 PM

If you change the status of a user to Deleted, is it treated the same way as an Item Record which is 'Deleted'

 

If so whats the difference between Inactive and Deleted? is it just a licensing thing?

Cheers
Scott Moyse

Please use Mark Solutions!.Accept as Solution &Give Kudos!Kudos to further enhance the value of these forums. Cheers!

Scott, 

 

Functionally there is no difference between Deleted and Inactive user states.  The two different labels are just available for the administrator to classifiy the two differnt types of users.

 

-Jared

Alumni
BorisChan
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎04-06-2012
Message 2 of 11 (266 Views)

Re: Change user status to Deleted

05-09-2012 05:03 PM in reply to: scottmoyse

I did a test in QA by setting a test user to "deleted" and the user will be shown with "Deleted" status highlighted in Red in the user setup screen.

 

The test user is initially assigned as approver in one change order. After the deletion, the user is no longer visible as an approver on the change order. However, I woud not say this is the desired outcome.

 

Hope others can chime in and advise..

 

Thanks,

Boris

Product Support Specialist

Global Services     

 

 

*Expert Elite*
scottmoyse
Posts: 1,696
Registered: ‎06-10-2009
Message 3 of 11 (265 Views)

Re: Change user status to Deleted

05-09-2012 05:10 PM in reply to: BorisChan

but if you chose Inactive it would still appear in the CO?

Cheers
Scott Moyse

Please use Mark Solutions!.Accept as Solution &Give Kudos!Kudos to further enhance the value of these forums. Cheers!

Alumni
BorisChan
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎04-06-2012
Message 4 of 11 (259 Views)

Re: Change user status to Deleted

05-09-2012 07:03 PM in reply to: scottmoyse

I tested again. Inactivating an user has similar behavior as deleting user on the CO.

 

Thanks,

Boris

*Expert Elite*
scottmoyse
Posts: 1,696
Registered: ‎06-10-2009
Message 5 of 11 (254 Views)

Re: Change user status to Deleted

05-09-2012 07:16 PM in reply to: BorisChan

Ok, so I wonder what the difference is then

Cheers
Scott Moyse

Please use Mark Solutions!.Accept as Solution &Give Kudos!Kudos to further enhance the value of these forums. Cheers!

Employee
jared.sund
Posts: 72
Registered: ‎11-04-2011
Message 6 of 11 (245 Views)

Re: Change user status to Deleted

05-10-2012 02:53 PM in reply to: scottmoyse

Scott, 

 

Functionally there is no difference between Deleted and Inactive user states.  The two different labels are just available for the administrator to classifiy the two differnt types of users.

 

-Jared

Jared Sund
Sr. Product Line Manager, Product Lifecycle Management
Autodesk, Inc.
*Expert Elite*
scottmoyse
Posts: 1,696
Registered: ‎06-10-2009
Message 7 of 11 (243 Views)

Re: Change user status to Deleted

05-10-2012 03:01 PM in reply to: jared.sund

Cheers Jared

Cheers
Scott Moyse

Please use Mark Solutions!.Accept as Solution &Give Kudos!Kudos to further enhance the value of these forums. Cheers!

Distinguished Contributor
AEC_Cadd
Posts: 130
Registered: ‎05-04-2006
Message 8 of 11 (144 Views)

Re: Change user status to Deleted

09-14-2012 09:23 AM in reply to: scottmoyse

Where or how do you change the status of a user to deleted?

Product Support
michelle.stone
Posts: 238
Registered: ‎02-21-2012
Message 9 of 11 (138 Views)

Re: Change user status to Deleted

09-14-2012 12:31 PM in reply to: AEC_Cadd

Check out the Wiki for help on user administration.

 

Hope that helps!

Michelle

 

 



Michelle Stone
PLM Product Manager
Autodesk, Inc.
Distinguished Contributor
AEC_Cadd
Posts: 130
Registered: ‎05-04-2006
Message 10 of 11 (132 Views)

Re: Change user status to Deleted

09-17-2012 09:00 AM in reply to: michelle.stone

I'll try to be a bit more spacific. Where do I find the Users tab? How do I get started? Is this a separate program? Is this part of AutoDesk or a separate piece of software?

Thanks in advance for your help.

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are You Going To Be @ AU 2014? Feel free to drop by our AU topic post and share your plans, plug a class that you're teaching, or simply check out who else from the community might be in attendance. Ohh and don't forgot to stop by the Autodesk Help | Learn | Collaborate booths in the Exhibit Hall and meet our community team if you get a chance!