PLM 360 General Discussion

PLM 360 General Discussion

Reply
Mentor
dkeeley
Posts: 224
Registered: ‎10-04-2012
Message 1 of 16 (350 Views)
Accepted Solution

Change Milestone State using scripting

350 Views, 15 Replies
01-05-2013 05:29 AM

Hi,

 

I want to be able to change the workflow state referenced by a milestone via scripting. The WikiHelp seems to suggest this is possible but I have not been able to get it to work. My script is as follows;

 

item.milestones[0].setWorkflowState('[99] Cancelled');

 

The Wikihelp states the following;

 

Methods on the Milestones Array

milestones.setWorkflowState("SHORT_NAME")

Method to set the workflow state associated with the milestone (milestones.workflowState). The "SHORT_NAME" parameter takes the value for the milestones.workflowState.shortName property.
 
Can you please let me know what I'm doing wrong?
 
Thanks,
 
David.

Hi Joe,

 

Thanks for the reply.

 

I just want tp be crystal clear about this incase I've misunderstood something;

 

A milestone has the following properties;

 

1 Workflow State

2 Milestone event

3 Target Date

4 Status

5 Warning Days before

6 Workflow progress

 

So if I understand you correctly the following statements are correct??

 

a> Properties 1 to 6 can be set on creation via a script.

 

b> Properties 2 to 6 can be edited via a script. Property 1 cannot.

 

c> A milestone cannot be deleted via scripting.

Mentor
dkeeley
Posts: 224
Registered: ‎10-04-2012
Message 2 of 16 (337 Views)

Re: Change Milestone State using scripting

01-05-2013 02:07 PM in reply to: dkeeley

Also,

 

is it possible to change a milstone date after it has been created using scripting?

 

Thanks,

 

David.

Product Support
piggeej
Posts: 281
Registered: ‎03-27-2012
Message 3 of 16 (325 Views)

Re: Change Milestone State using scripting

01-07-2013 07:07 AM in reply to: dkeeley

David,

 

Workflow states dictate milestones, not the other way around. You can have a workflow state create or adjust a milestone, or look at a milestone for a condition of validation, but you cannot have a milestone adjust a workflow state.

 

Also yes you can adjust a milestone date via scripting after the milestone is created, if you know the name of the milestone your trying to affect.



Joe Piggee
Support Specialist
Product Support
Autodesk, Inc.

Mentor
dkeeley
Posts: 224
Registered: ‎10-04-2012
Message 4 of 16 (323 Views)

Re: Change Milestone State using scripting

01-07-2013 07:29 AM in reply to: piggeej

Hi Joe,

 

Thanks for the reply. So if I understand you correctly it is not possible to change the workflow state asscoiated to an existing milestone via scripting?

 

David.

Product Support
piggeej
Posts: 281
Registered: ‎03-27-2012
Message 5 of 16 (321 Views)

Re: Change Milestone State using scripting

01-07-2013 07:38 AM in reply to: dkeeley

David,

 

There isn’t a way for a script to start based on when a milestone changes. Scripts only work on workflow changes or item creation / change.



Joe Piggee
Support Specialist
Product Support
Autodesk, Inc.

Mentor
dkeeley
Posts: 224
Registered: ‎10-04-2012
Message 6 of 16 (319 Views)

Re: Change Milestone State using scripting

01-07-2013 07:41 AM in reply to: piggeej

Joe,

 

I think we have our wires crossed. The script is executed by a workspace behaviour (edit). All I want to do is change the workflow state referenced by the milestone at that point.

 

Does that clear things up?

 

David.

Product Support
piggeej
Posts: 281
Registered: ‎03-27-2012
Message 7 of 16 (315 Views)

Re: Change Milestone State using scripting

01-07-2013 08:06 AM in reply to: dkeeley

David,

 

If you are trying to change the workflow step based on a milestone. Then you are looking at an ‘if’ or 'case' statement and using:

                item.performWorkflowTransition(transID, 'comments')



Joe Piggee
Support Specialist
Product Support
Autodesk, Inc.

Mentor
dkeeley
Posts: 224
Registered: ‎10-04-2012
Message 8 of 16 (313 Views)

Re: Change Milestone State using scripting

01-07-2013 08:32 AM in reply to: dkeeley

Hi Joe,

 

I think we still have our wires crossed ;-)

 

I'll PM you to discuss further.

 

David.

Mentor
dkeeley
Posts: 224
Registered: ‎10-04-2012
Message 9 of 16 (306 Views)

Re: Change Milestone State using scripting

01-07-2013 12:49 PM in reply to: dkeeley

Hi Joe,

 

I have tried to illustrate what I am trying to do on the attached document. Please let me know if this sheds any light.

 

David.

Product Support
piggeej
Posts: 281
Registered: ‎03-27-2012
Message 10 of 16 (297 Views)

Re: Change Milestone State using scripting

01-08-2013 06:28 AM in reply to: dkeeley

David,

 

Based on what your showing all you can do at that point is set the “Closed” milestone to completed at 100% and create a new milestone for “Cancel”.

You cannot change one milestone for another or delete and replace the milestone by scripting.



Joe Piggee
Support Specialist
Product Support
Autodesk, Inc.

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.