PLM 360 General Discussion

PLM 360 General Discussion

Reply
Contributor
eddieemmet
Posts: 22
Registered: ‎06-01-2012
Message 1 of 12 (368 Views)
Accepted Solution

Best way to import part lists

368 Views, 11 Replies
06-01-2012 03:41 AM

I have a simple question about the import. I generate an Excel spreadsheet with a list of parts and their attributes. I'd like to import the list and have the new parts generated.

 

Instead, it tells me the field Number is non-editable and will be blank. Sure enough, I end up with a bunch of parts that have blank part numbers, which I am then unable to edit.

 

Periodically, I'd like to import a list of parts, have existing attributes updated and any new parts created automatically. I'm sure there's a way to do this, but I couldn't get it to work. Thanks

 

Edward

Hi,
 
From the attachment (NumberFieldSettings.jpg) I noticed that "Editable" is set to "False". This is the default setting for Part Number. But, prior to import, this has to be set to "True".
 
Regards,
Madhan


 

If my post answers your question, please click the "Accept as Solution" button. This helps everyone find answers more quickly!

 

Okay, I was able to set "Number" to editable on "Creation Only": I must have clicked on "Clone" instead of "Edit" before.

 

After doing that, I was able to run the import and get the parts created.

 

I actually ran it twice, and it created the parts twice (!). I then added a validation to the Number field to make it unique, and the import now catches it.

 

This will work well enough. Thanks everyone

 

 

Product Support
Andrew.Shaw
Posts: 44
Registered: ‎01-09-2012
Message 2 of 12 (365 Views)

Re: Best way to import part lists

06-01-2012 05:21 AM in reply to: eddieemmet

Hello Edward,

 

Could you please provide the settings of the number field or, even better, a screen shot of the dialog box displayed when you edit that field (so that we can see all the settings without you having to type them again).

 

Best regards,



Andrew Shaw
Premium Support Specialist PLM/PDM
Global Services
Autodesk, Inc.

Contributor
eddieemmet
Posts: 22
Registered: ‎06-01-2012
Message 3 of 12 (362 Views)

Re: Best way to import part lists

06-01-2012 06:15 AM in reply to: Andrew.Shaw
Hi, Yes, definitely, here's a screenshot of the Number field, as it's set up now (NumberFieldSettings.jpg). If I try to import an XML file with one just one part, it gives me the warning in the original posting (Import Message.jpg). The part does get imported. When I try to edit it, then number cannot be corrected manually (Resultant Item.jpg). Thanks for the quick reply Edward
Product Support
Andrew.Shaw
Posts: 44
Registered: ‎01-09-2012
Message 4 of 12 (357 Views)

Re: Best way to import part lists

06-01-2012 07:01 AM in reply to: eddieemmet

Hi Edward,

 

There is no screenshot attached to your reply but let's try to see what the possible culprits are:

 

1. Is there a behaviour script that runs at item creation? Wiki link

2. Is it computed field? Wiki link

 

Best regards,

 

 



Andrew Shaw
Premium Support Specialist PLM/PDM
Global Services
Autodesk, Inc.

Contributor
eddieemmet
Posts: 22
Registered: ‎06-01-2012
Message 5 of 12 (351 Views)

Re: Best way to import part lists

06-01-2012 04:54 PM in reply to: eddieemmet

I replied by e-mail; looks lile the attachments get pruned out. Let me try on the web page.

 

A script called "ItemSeqGen" runs at item creation. 

 

The script is:

var itemSeqID = '333';

var newItemNumber = nextSeqNumber(itemSeqID);
if(newItemNumber !== null){
var catNumber = item.ITEM_CATEGORY.CATEGORY_CODE;
item.NUMBER = catNumber + '-' + newItemNumber;}

 

The item number is obviously a bit of a special field. It should not be editable in general and certainly never changed. Having it generated automatically by script is great. But when importing parts that have been created in the past, the numbers just have to be accepted as-is. Even if they don't conform to the numering schema, they can't be changed anymore.

 

I may be totally on the wrong path here. What's the best way to approach this? Thanks

Edward

Product Support
michelle.stone
Posts: 238
Registered: ‎02-21-2012
Message 6 of 12 (347 Views)

Re: Best way to import part lists

06-01-2012 06:27 PM in reply to: eddieemmet

Are you choosing any key fields to 'match on' during the import?  See section 4 of the tutorial.  In the 'Import Message' screen shot I didn't see one.  This will help identify which records exist already and will be updated rather than created.

 



Michelle Stone
PLM Product Manager
Autodesk, Inc.
Contributor
eddieemmet
Posts: 22
Registered: ‎06-01-2012
Message 7 of 12 (344 Views)

Re: Best way to import part lists

06-01-2012 09:03 PM in reply to: michelle.stone
Hi, Yes, I had watched the tutorial and did also try with matching on. The problem actually isn't the update for existing parts. The problem is that it creates parts with no part number. For non-existent parts, I want it to create them with the part number in the import file. iPhone$B$+$iAw?.(B
Product Support
Madhan_T_autodesk
Posts: 546
Registered: ‎09-26-2007
Message 8 of 12 (336 Views)

Re: Best way to import part lists

06-02-2012 12:09 AM in reply to: eddieemmet

Hi,
 
From the attachment (NumberFieldSettings.jpg) I noticed that "Editable" is set to "False". This is the default setting for Part Number. But, prior to import, this has to be set to "True".
 
Regards,
Madhan


 

If my post answers your question, please click the "Accept as Solution" button. This helps everyone find answers more quickly!

 



Madhanagopal Thiruvenkatachalam
Support Specialist
Product Support
Autodesk, Inc.

Contributor
eddieemmet
Posts: 22
Registered: ‎06-01-2012
Message 9 of 12 (333 Views)

Re: Best way to import part lists

06-02-2012 03:54 AM in reply to: eddieemmet

Hi, Madhan

 

I also thought perhaps I should toggle the Number field to editable. But, when I tried to do so, I got an error message that the field was already in use (see FieldInUseError.jpg). It appears I cannot change it.

 

Of course, making the field editable in general would be less desirable, but I could go in, toggle it, do my loading, then toggle in back. If I could get the Import to load it directly, I could set editable to "On Creation Only". This work-around would be sufficient, I guess.

 

Ideally, I'd like to have autonumbers for everyone on most part categories, just free-hand for certain ones. But, I'd like the component engineer or other select people to be able to import & create new part numbers of any form. I'd rather not grant those people admin privileges to tinker with the Number attribute, but I guess it could be sorted out organisationally.

 

I thought this was a simple use case, but I guess I opened a can of worms. Maybe it can't be done. I do appreciate everyone's attempts to help.

 

Edward

 

Contributor
eddieemmet
Posts: 22
Registered: ‎06-01-2012
Message 10 of 12 (331 Views)

Re: Best way to import part lists

06-02-2012 04:55 AM in reply to: eddieemmet

Okay, I was able to set "Number" to editable on "Creation Only": I must have clicked on "Clone" instead of "Edit" before.

 

After doing that, I was able to run the import and get the parts created.

 

I actually ran it twice, and it created the parts twice (!). I then added a validation to the Number field to make it unique, and the import now catches it.

 

This will work well enough. Thanks everyone

 

 

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are You Going To Be @ AU 2014? Feel free to drop by our AU topic post and share your plans, plug a class that you're teaching, or simply check out who else from the community might be in attendance. Ohh and don't forgot to stop by the Autodesk Help | Learn | Collaborate booths in the Exhibit Hall and meet our community team if you get a chance!