PLM 360 General Discussion

PLM 360 General Discussion

Reply
Active Contributor
xcollet
Posts: 29
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 1 of 14 (749 Views)

Advanced Print View Name

749 Views, 13 Replies
04-24-2012 11:36 PM

The Advanced print view name does not accept special caracters...

See attached file.

 

Xavier

Xavier
*Expert Elite*
scottmoyse
Posts: 1,700
Registered: ‎06-10-2009
Message 2 of 14 (731 Views)

Re: Advanced Print View Name

04-26-2012 12:05 AM in reply to: xcollet

I'm guessing its the web fonts at fault?

Cheers
Scott Moyse

Please use Mark Solutions!.Accept as Solution &Give Kudos!Kudos to further enhance the value of these forums. Cheers!

Board Manager
broepke
Posts: 180
Registered: ‎01-24-2004
Message 3 of 14 (715 Views)

Re: Advanced Print View Name

04-26-2012 03:17 PM in reply to: scottmoyse

I don't think so scott - Just some new feature growing pains here - We've logged all these and will get them fixed up quick.  Thanks for all the help guys!

 

Of course for now - try to avoid any special chars and it should be okay.



Brian Roepke
Director of PLM & PDM
Autodesk, Inc.

*Expert Elite*
scottmoyse
Posts: 1,700
Registered: ‎06-10-2009
Message 4 of 14 (713 Views)

Re: Advanced Print View Name

04-26-2012 03:27 PM in reply to: broepke

I don't suppose you could chuck in a barcode web font into the advanced print view? I was gutted when I realised it didn't use locally installed True Type fonts.

Cheers
Scott Moyse

Please use Mark Solutions!.Accept as Solution &Give Kudos!Kudos to further enhance the value of these forums. Cheers!

Board Manager
broepke
Posts: 180
Registered: ‎01-24-2004
Message 5 of 14 (711 Views)

Re: Advanced Print View Name

04-26-2012 03:38 PM in reply to: scottmoyse

Can't use locally installed fonts because it's rendered on the server.

 

you can however create a barcode as a mash up on a field and in turn use it as a field.  What Bar Code standard do you need?



Brian Roepke
Director of PLM & PDM
Autodesk, Inc.

*Expert Elite*
scottmoyse
Posts: 1,700
Registered: ‎06-10-2009
Message 6 of 14 (706 Views)

Re: Advanced Print View Name

04-26-2012 04:01 PM in reply to: broepke

Any, it doesn't matter really, I want PLM 360 to generate it for reuse within PLM 360. I've don't trials with 3 of 9, but we need something that can get reasonably small. The thing with barcodes, is the scanners are dirt cheap and can use old pc's around the factory since they just need to use the web.

Cheers
Scott Moyse

Please use Mark Solutions!.Accept as Solution &Give Kudos!Kudos to further enhance the value of these forums. Cheers!

Board Manager
broepke
Posts: 180
Registered: ‎01-24-2004
Message 7 of 14 (704 Views)

Re: Advanced Print View Name

04-26-2012 04:07 PM in reply to: scottmoyse

Okay - Since you're awesome and you basically presented me with a challenge - here's your answer.  You can see the attached images doing it.

 

1. Create a new single line text field on the record you want - make it a computed field with the following formula

 

'<a href="http://www.barcodesinc.com/generator/"><img src="http://www.barcodesinc.com/generator/image.php?code=' + NUMBER + ' &style=197&type=C128B&width=200&height=50&xres=1&font=3" alt="the barcode printer: free barcode generator" border="0"></a>'

 

2. Replace the word "NUMBER" with whatever you want encoded in the Bar Code.  For reference I used this site to generate the embed code.  Honestly you can use whatever you really want

 

http://www.barcodesinc.com/generator/index.php

 

3. Then, Create your print view and be sure to add the field and lay it out however you want.



Brian Roepke
Director of PLM & PDM
Autodesk, Inc.

*Expert Elite*
scottmoyse
Posts: 1,700
Registered: ‎06-10-2009
Message 8 of 14 (700 Views)

Re: Advanced Print View Name

04-26-2012 04:15 PM in reply to: broepke

AMAZING! You've made my freaking day, although I now feel inadequate! lol

 

but that is so cool. Did you already know about the exist of that generator? if not what keywords should I be using to find other wicked stuff like that for mashups?

Cheers
Scott Moyse

Please use Mark Solutions!.Accept as Solution &Give Kudos!Kudos to further enhance the value of these forums. Cheers!

Board Manager
broepke
Posts: 180
Registered: ‎01-24-2004
Message 9 of 14 (699 Views)

Re: Advanced Print View Name

04-26-2012 04:15 PM in reply to: broepke

To save you a minute - here is my lazy print view HTML you can just paste in... to get a mock label

 

<p>&nbsp;</p>
<div class="itemDetails"><span style="font-family: arial, helvetica, sans-serif; font-size: large;"><strong>Item Number:</strong>&nbsp;${item.itemDetails.sections["Details"].fields.NUMBER.value}</span></div>
<div class="itemDetails">&nbsp;</div>
<div class="itemDetails">
<table style="width: 650px; border-width: 1px; border-color: #696969; border-style: solid;" border="1" cellpadding="2">
<tbody>
<tr>
<td style="border-width: 1px; border-color: #696969; border-style: solid;" align="left" valign="middle" nowrap="nowrap"><span style="font-family: arial, helvetica, sans-serif; font-size: small;"><strong>Title</strong></span></td>
<td style="border-width: 1px; border-color: #696969; border-style: solid;" align="left" valign="middle" nowrap="nowrap"><span style="font-family: arial, helvetica, sans-serif; font-size: small;"><span>${item.itemDetails.sections["Details"].fields.TITLE.value}</span></span></td>
<td style="border-width: 1px; border-color: #696969; border-style: solid;" rowspan="5" align="left" nowrap="nowrap"><span style="font-family: arial, helvetica, sans-serif; font-size: small;">${item.itemDetails.sections["Barcode"].fields.BARCODE.value}</span><span style="font-family: arial, helvetica, sans-serif; font-size: small;"><br /></span></td>
</tr>
<tr>
<td style="border-width: 1px; border-color: #696969; border-style: solid;" align="left" valign="middle" nowrap="nowrap"><strong><span style="font-family: arial, helvetica, sans-serif; font-size: small;"><strong><span>Description</span></strong></span></strong></td>
<td style="border-width: 1px; border-color: #696969; border-style: solid;" align="left" valign="middle"><span style="font-family: arial, helvetica, sans-serif; font-size: small;"><span><span>${item.itemDetails.sections["Details"].fields.DESCRIPTION.value}</span></span></span></td>
</tr>
<tr>
<td style="border-width: 1px; border-color: #696969; border-style: solid;" align="left" valign="middle" nowrap="nowrap"><strong><span style="font-family: arial, helvetica, sans-serif; font-size: small;">Units</span></strong></td>
<td style="border-width: 1px; border-color: #696969; border-style: solid;" align="left" valign="middle"><span style="font-family: arial, helvetica, sans-serif; font-size: small;"><span>${item.itemDetails.sections["Details"].fields.UNIT_OF_MEASURE.value}</span></span></td>
</tr>
<tr>
<td style="border-width: 1px; border-color: #696969; border-style: solid;" align="left" valign="middle" nowrap="nowrap"><strong><span style="font-family: arial, helvetica, sans-serif; font-size: small;">Category</span></strong></td>
<td style="border-width: 1px; border-color: #696969; border-style: solid;" align="left" valign="middle"><span style="font-family: arial, helvetica, sans-serif; font-size: small;"><span><span>${item.itemDetails.sections["Details"].fields.ITEM_CATEGORY.value}</span></span></span></td>
</tr>
<tr>
<td style="border-width: 1px; border-color: #696969; border-style: solid;" align="left" valign="middle" nowrap="nowrap"><span style="font-family: arial, helvetica, sans-serif; font-size: small;">&nbsp;<strong>Comment</strong></span></td>
<td style="border-width: 1px; border-color: #696969; border-style: solid;" align="left" valign="middle" nowrap="nowrap"><span style="font-family: arial, helvetica, sans-serif; font-size: small;">&nbsp;${item.itemDetails.sections["Additional Details (Uncontrolled)"].fields.COMMENTS.value}</span></td>
</tr>
</tbody>
</table>
</div>
<div class="itemDetails">&nbsp;</div>
<div class="itemDetails">&nbsp;</div>
<p>&nbsp;</p>



Brian Roepke
Director of PLM & PDM
Autodesk, Inc.

*Expert Elite*
scottmoyse
Posts: 1,700
Registered: ‎06-10-2009
Message 10 of 14 (694 Views)

Re: Advanced Print View Name

04-26-2012 04:17 PM in reply to: broepke

I'm going to have to write a blog post about this if thats ok?

Cheers
Scott Moyse

Please use Mark Solutions!.Accept as Solution &Give Kudos!Kudos to further enhance the value of these forums. Cheers!

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.