Community
3ds Max Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s 3ds Max Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular 3ds Max topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Plug-ins and the like!

7 REPLIES 7
Message 1 of 8
Anonymous
164 Views, 7 Replies

Plug-ins and the like!

Hello,

I'm currently a student studying animation with a strong interest in VFX, in particular PFlow in Max. I've been thinking about getting into using plug-ins for paritlces and FX for a long time now so I was wondering if any of you nice people could recommend some good ones? And also recommend a good spec computer for FX work that won't cost an absolute fortune.

As far as the plug-ins go, I'm looking for things I can use with Pflow or just Max itself. I already know about FumeFX, Krakatoa, RealFlow and the like. Ideally could the plug-ins be free or not very expensive as being a student has left me pretty broke, or have a demo version. Plug-ins I'm interested in are things like cloth sims, hair, effects etc...

Many thanks in advance,
7 REPLIES 7
Message 2 of 8
Anonymous
in reply to: Anonymous

Also what's the best verion of Max to work with particles? I've heard that 2012 seems a bit buggy for particles and that 2010 is a better version to work with. Just another little question.

Thanks,
Message 3 of 8
krueger_1

I don't think many of the plugins you want are going to be free since they're goal is to sell to vfx studios, you may get some demos though. But here's some more:

Hair Farm
Krakatoa - you already know about it, but the new version can render hair too
Frost
Thinking Particles
Volume Breaker
Afterburn
RayFire
Glu3D
PF Tools Box #2 & #3 - Box #2 can do tons of stuff with the physx glue (inlcuding cloth-like effects)