MotionBuilder Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s MotionBuilder Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular MotionBuilder topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

extending the API and custom objects

3 REPLIES 3
Message 1 of 4
Anonymous
333 Views, 3 Replies

extending the API and custom objects

I have a couple of questions regarding plugin development. I have been scripting in mobu for some time and am pretty comfortable with the API. I have just recently started looking into plugin development. I am also new to C++ so I can appreciate it is going to be a reasonably steep learning curve.

I have been going through the samples that are provided and have managed to build them as well create my own variations here and there. The things that I want to do however are not covered in the samples so I thought I would pose the questions here.

Extending the API
Is it possible to extend the API in such as way to provide additional commands to the python interface? The example I am thinking of is a command for finding objects with the particular attribute. Now of course this is possible in python but it is slow, particularly with large scenes. I am hoping that I can write the command in C++ and then call it from python when required. Something similar to FBFindObjectsByName, perhaps FBFindObjectsByAttribute.

Custom objects
Is it possible to create a custom object type? Something that distinguishes them from all other objects in the scene. There is an example that creates a custom object but is still an FBModel as far of the system is concerned. I would like to make a custom model type, like FBHandle, FBNote etc. I would like to have an FBMyCustomModel for example.

Thanks in advance for any info you can provide.

Cheers,
Ollie
3 REPLIES 3
Message 2 of 4
Anonymous
in reply to: Anonymous

Hi Ollie,

> Extending the API