Community
The Community Room
The Community Room is a space to have conversations about anything you’d like to discuss with your fellow Engineers, Architects, Designers and basically all community members in here.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Main difference between Maya, 3D Max and Blender?

4 REPLIES 4
Message 1 of 5
Anonymous
13201 Views, 4 Replies

Main difference between Maya, 3D Max and Blender?

Hi

I am a 3D animation professor and there is a question my students ask me all the time, so I am going to ask it here to get some feedback.
I`d like to know your opinion on what are the strengths and weakenesses that Maya and 3D Max have when comparing them to each other. Why does the big studios prefer Maya?
Also which are the main differences between these two softwares and Blender? Why does someone would prefer to spend a lot of money on Max or Maya when Blender is free?
Thank you for your answers.
4 REPLIES 4
Message 2 of 5
Anifex09
in reply to: Anonymous

Maya was designed for large studio productions. It enables the user to animate complex animations. All great 3D Studios want to push the limits of their work. Maya allows you to do this by not limiting the number of ways to solve problems. Every tool talks to each other and if it doesn't you can find a way to connect them. This is one of the most powerful and successful node based platforms I have every used. Many free lance artist use Max simple because many of the tools are automated and you can start to get good visual results with little effort. I started with Max and Autocad, I had a difficult time moving to Maya but, once I did I was able to pull of animations that landed me a Job. I now own may own company and could not have done it with out Maya. Amazing 3D Animation and special effects are a set of goals with a set of problems, Maya is a program that is designed to allow the artist to solve these problems.
Message 3 of 5
Anonymous